Close sidebar

Exciting Star Handed First Start As Tipperary Name Team For Kilkenny Showdown

Tipperary head for Kilkenny on Sunday as the old rivals meet once again. It’s fair to say there’s never a huge amount of love lost between the two counties, and nearly all their clashes in recent times have been crackers, even those in the Allianz National Hurling League.

Michael Ryan has made seven changes from the team that saw off Wexford last week, as he plans without the four players involved in the Fitzgibbon Cup final with UL. That includes last week’s man of the match Jason Forde.

The most notable of the seven changes is Billy McCarthy starting at centre-forward. The Thurles Sarsfields man has played an important role in the club’s recent county titles, while he has also starred for UCC. Having come off the bench last week against Wexford, he raised one white flag. Given the opportunity from the start against the Cats, he will be eager to make a bigger impact.

Munster Senior Hurling Championship Quarter-Final, Semple Stadium, Thurles, Co. Tipperary 30/10/2016<br /> Thurles Sarsfields vs Ballygunner<br /> Thurles Sarsfields Billy McCarthy in action against Ballygunner’s Philip Mahony<br /> Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ken Sutton

Meanwhile, Alan Flynn, Tomás Hamill, Seamus Kennedy, Cathal Barrett, Ger Browne and Niall O’Meara all come into the side. Padraic Maher is among those to miss out.

Tipperary team to face Kilkenny:

1. Daragh Mooney – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill
2. Alan Flynn – Kiladangan
3. Tomás Hamill Moyne -Templetuohy
4. Sean O’Brien – Newport
5. Seamus Kennedy – St Mary’s
6. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane
7. Cathal Barrett – Holycross-Ballycahill
8. Brendan Maher – Borris-Ileigh
9. Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
10. Sean Curran – Mullinahone
11. Billy McCarthy – Thurles Sarsfields
12. Patrick Maher – Lorrha-Dorrha
13. Ger Browne – Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams
14. Michael Breen – Ballina
15. Niall O’Meara – Kilruane McDonaghs

Allianz Hurling League Division 1A, Cusack Park, Ennis, Co. Clare  28/1/2018  Clare vs Tipperary Tipperary's manager Michael Ryan  Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Brian Cody has also made a number of changes, with six switches from the team that successfully plundered Walsh Park for two points last week.

Goalkeeper Eoin Murphy misses out as Darren Brennan comes into the team between the sticks. Meanwhile, there are starts for Conor Browne, James Maher, Liam Blanchfield, Richie Leahy and Luke Scanlon.

All eyes will be on Martin Keoghan, who scored five from play against the Déise last week.

Kilkenny team to face Tipperary:

1. Darren Brennan – St Lachtains
2. Enda Morrissey – Bennettsbridge
3. Joey Holden – Ballyhale Shamrocks
4. Paddy Deegan – O’Loughlin Gaels
5. Conor O’Shea – Clara
6. Cillian Buckley – Dicksboro
7. Conor Browne – James Stephens
8. James Maher – St Lachtains
9. Liam Blanchfield – Bennettsbridge
10. Martin Keoghan – Tullaroan
11. TJ Reid – Ballyhale Shamrocks
12. Pat Lyng – Rower Inistioge
13. Richie Leahy – Rower Inistioge
14. Walter Walsh – Tullogher Rosbercon
15. Luke Scanlon – James Stephens


READ NEXT: Ten Stars Who Have Enjoyed A Breakthrough Allianz League Campaign So Far

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.