Galway progressed to the All-Ireland u21 final this afternoon with a shock win over Kerry, on a scoreline of 2-14 to 2-10. The Kingdom were heavy favourites following their Munster final victory over Cork.
However, a Galway tour de force in the first half saw the Tribesmen open a nine-point lead.
Kerry needed to respond quickly, and they did just after the break, with a Matthew O’Sullivan goal.
However, he appeared to throw it up to himself before slapping the ball into the net, and there were many who felt that the goal should not have been allowed.
How could the umpire have allowed the Kerry goal? Flicked it up to himself then palmed it to the net. Joe Sheridan mark 2
— Joe Brolly (@JoeBrolly1993) April 15, 2017
@sportsdes Hardly, Kerry first goal should have been disallowed
— Barry Ryan (@Barryryan85) April 15, 2017
How can that Kerry goal be given??
— Mark Delaney (@markdelaney17) April 15, 2017
There will be REAL Controversy about the Kerry Goal..Handled twice!
— John Mulligan (@Mulliganj) April 15, 2017
To be fair to the referee, O’Sullivan clearly did not intend on throwing the ball up as it was knocked out of his hands, but it is certainly a grey area and the Galway backs had a case for complaint.
Take a look below:
Make sure to tune into the latest episode of the 16th Man, where we review the National Football League final and look ahead to Tipperary vs Wexford and Limerick vs Galway.