Derek McGrath Names Strong Side As Waterford Look To Regain Their Form Against Offaly

Derek McGrath has made just one change to his Déise side ahead of the Offaly clash as Waterford look to get the show back on the road in Tullamore this Saturday.

With Stephen Bennett out through suspension, McGrath was forced to make at least one change from the loss to Cork.

However the general perception in the Déise was that a number of changes were to be expected. McGrath has shown faith in his side to bounce back from the defeat in the Munster semi-final.

Darragh Fives comes into the Waterford side to take on Offaly this weekend. Fives of course was named to start versus Cork but was a late exclusion from the side.

Maurice Shanahan, who was the late inclusion in place of Fives is named to start this time around. With all this said, dummy teams are common in today’s game and some changes may be seen yet.

Meanwhile, Offaly have made three changes to their side from the 15 that were heavily defeated by Galway. Waterford native Kevin Ryan has drafted in Pat Camon, Aidan Treacy and James Mulrooney.

Saturday’s game is a must win for both sides with the loser facing a long winter. Waterford are heavily tipped and we expect this to be a facile victory for Derek McGrath’s men.

The teams line out as follows-


1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner)
2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)
5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)
6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)
7. Philip Mahony (Ballygunner)
8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
9. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)
21. Maurice Shanahan (Lismore)
13. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
14. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
15. Darragh Fives (Tourin)


James Dempsey Kinnitty
Ben Conneely St Rynaghs
Dermot Shortt St Rynaghs
Pat Camon St Rynaghs
Sean Gardiner Lusmagh
Aiden Treacy St Rynaghs
David King Coolderry
Sean Ryan Birr
Joe Bergin Seir Kieran
Paddy Murphy Ballinamere
Shane Kinsella Kinnitty
Emmett Nolan Birr
James Mulrooney Seir Kieran
Shane Dooley Tullamore
Oisin Kelly Belmont

Kevin Daly, Pundit Arena


Check out this week’s episode of The 16th Man where we were joined by Richie Hogan, Dick Clerkin and Dara O’Cinnéide.

Read More About: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.