Ireland’s Compromise Rules Squad Announced

Share and Enjoy !

Ireland manager Paul Earley has announced his twenty-five man squad ahead of the tour to Australia for the 2014 Compromise Rules Series.

Donegal’s Michael Murphy will captain the side again this year with Cork’s Aidan Walsh being handed the vice-captaincy. The squad is represented by fifteen different counties with many big names in the squad.

Mayo man Pearse Hanley is the sole Australian based player in the squad. The Brisbane Lions is not joined by any of his AFL compatriots. The squad includes five 2014 all-star winners in Michael Murphy, Colm Boyle, James McCarthy, Neil McGee and David Moran.

The series has managed to survive another year despite some criticism. Last year’s series was a complete farce in every sense of the word. Firstly the Australian’s brought a very weak team to Ireland on what could only be seen as a glorified holiday. Secondly the way in which club fixtures were affected was absolutely disgraceful.

Michael Murphy played with Ireland on a Saturday and then played a county final with his club, Glenswilly, the following day. The Cork senior hurling final was put back by a week to accommodate Aidan Walsh and Ciarán Sheehan, who were both playing in the intermediate final and there were endless other examples.

Ireland will look to retain their crown from last year’s comprehensive victory. Ireland will depart for Australia on the 12th of November with the test match taking place in Perth on the 22ndof November.

Squad in full -Michael Murphy (Donegal, captain), Aidan Walsh (Cork, vice-captain)  Colm Begley (Laois), Colm Boyle (Mayo), Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone), Cathal Cregg (Roscommon), Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Finian Hanley (Galway), Pearse Hanley (Brisbane Lions), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Lee Keegan (Mayo), James McCarthy (Dublin), Ciaran McDonald (Tipperary), Neil McGee (Donegal), Chrissy McKaigue (Derry), Kevin McKernan (Down), Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo), Conor McManus (Monaghan), David Moran (Kerry), Niall Morgan (Tyrone), Ross Munnelly (Laois), Colm O’Neill (Cork), Pádraig O’Neill (Kildare), Paddy O’Rourke (Meath), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo).

Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: AFL, aidan walsh, Aussie Rules, compromise rules, GAA, Gaelic Football, michael murphy, paul early

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at View all posts by The PA Team