Close sidebar

All-Ireland Finalists Receive 11 Nominations Each For GAA/GPA Football All-Stars

Having battled it out for the 2016 All-Ireland Senior Football Championship crown, it’s no surprise to see champions Dublin and runners up Mayo shares the honours when it comes to the 2016 football All Stars list.

Revealed on Thursday morning, each county has 11 nominations following last Saturday’s All-Ireland final replay, which the Dubs captured by a single point at Croke Park.

The nominees for Player of the Year are also dominated by the two finalists with Lee Keegan and Dublin duo Brian Fenton and Ciarán Kilkenny making the shortlist.

The county breakdown is as follows: Dublin 11; Mayo 11; Tyrone 6; Tipperary 5; Kerry 4; Galway 4; Donegal 3; Clare 1.

GAA All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Final, Croke Park, Dublin 18/9/2016 Dublin vs Mayo Mayo goalkeeper David Clarke Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Cathal Noonan

One interesting inclusion is that of Mayo goalkeeper David Clarke. A standout performer for the men in green and red in this year’s Championship, he was dropped for the replay last weekend only to make an appearance when Rob Hennelly was black carded for a challenge on Paddy Andrews. Clarke is nominated alongside Tipperary’s Evan Comerford and winning caption Stephen Cluxton.

Besides Comerford, Tipperary’s surprise run to the semi finals means there are a number of nominations for the Premier county in Robbie Kiely, Peter Acheson, Michael Quinlivan and Conor Sweeney.

Tipp are also well represented on the Young Player of the Year’s shortlist with Josh Keane and Jimmy Feehan named alongside one of Mayo’s finest this year, Diarmuid O’Connor.

Aside from the finalists, it’s Tyrone that fared best with six nominations, then Kerry and Galway with four each, while Clare’s Gary Brennan also received a nomination in midfield for his displays for the Banner county.

The GAA GPA Opel All-Star team will be finalised by a panel of GAA correspondents with the Player of the Year awards voted on by the players themselves. The winners will be announced at the All-Stars banquet early next month on November 4th.

2016 GAA/GPA Opel All-Star football nominees


1. Evan Comerford (Tipperary)

2. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

3. David Clarke (Mayo)


1. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)

2. Brendan Harrison (Mayo)

3. Keith Higgins (Mayo)

4. Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)

5. Lee Keegan (Mayo)

6. Colm Boyle (Mayo)

7. Philly McMahon (Dublin)

8. Ryan McHugh (Donegal)

9. Cathal McCarron (Tyrone)

10. John Small (Dublin)

11. Patrick Durcan (Mayo)

12. Shane Enright (Kerry)

13. Declan Kyne (Galway)

14. James McCarthy (Dublin)

15. Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo)

16. Paddy McGrath (Donegal)

17. Robbie Kiely (Tipperary)

18. Killian Young (Kerry)


1. Brian Fenton (Dublin)

2. Peter Acheson (Tipperary)

3. Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone)

4. Gary Brennan (Clare)

5. Paul Conroy (Galway)

6. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)


1. Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)

2. Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)

3. Dean Rock (Dublin)

4. Kevin McManamon (Dublin)

5. Paul Geaney (Kerry)

6. Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary)

7. Andy Moran (Mayo)

8. Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)

9. Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)

10. Paul Murphy (Kerry)

11. Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)

12. Damien Comer (Galway)

13. Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)

14. Peter Harte (Tyrone)

15. Danny Cummins (Galway)

16. Patrick McBrearty (Donegal)

17. Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone)

18. Niall Sludden (Tyrone)

Recommended Read: Kilkenny’s Greatest XV Of The Brian Cody Era

Read More About: , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at