Close sidebar

The Hurler & Footballer Of The Year Have Been Named

After a historic year in the All-Ireland Hurling and Football Championships, in which Galway and Dublin claimed the respective ultimate prizes, we now know who’s picked up the highest individual honour in each code. 

Earlier this week we found out who had made the All-Stars hurling team but live on RTÉ on Friday night it was announced who would take home the two most prestigious individual awards hurlers can receive in their career.

The talented list of nominees were vast, from Cork’s Patrick Horgan to Waterford’s Stephen O’Keeffe but ultimately the top prize went to Joe Canning of Galway following his county’s first success in an All-Ireland final since 1988.

Meanwhile, the Young Hurler of the Year award went to Galway’s Conor Whelan.

In football, Mayo’s Andy Moran was named Footballer of the Year while Con O’Callaghan picked up the Young Football of the Year gong.

Read More About: , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.