GAA: County Football Finals Round Up

Share and Enjoy !

With inter county matters done and dusted for another year, the County Championships take centre stage, as teams vie for bragging rights within their own borders. Here we have a roundup of recent County Finals from around the country.

Cavan SFC

Cavan Gaels 0-16 – Kingscourt Stars 0-15

For the 13th time, Cavan Gaels are top of the pile after a thrilling win over Kingscourt at Kingspan Breffni Park. Star centre back Padraic Faulkner saw red for a late tackle after 12 minutes. Sean Johnston led the way for Peter Canavan’s Gaels, but it was Micheál Lyng who struck the injury-time winner.


Clare SFC

Cratloe 2-12 – Eire Og, Ennis 0-11

Cusack Park Ennis was the venue for Cratloe’s completion of their historic SHC and SFC double win. Early goals from Conor McGrath and man of the match Podge Collins set them on their way to a comfortable win.

Veteran Limerick midfielder also chipped in with 0-1 for the newly crowned champions.


Limerick SFC

Ballylanders 2-8 – St. Patrick’s 1-7

In a match where every score came from play, Ballylanders won their first senior title since 2007 in Newcastle West. St Patrick had their chances in this enthralling final but Captain Jimmy Barry Murphy led the way for Ballylanders with 0-3, while James Kirby’s contribution of 1-2 ensured their victory.


Sligo SFC

Tubbercurry 3-12 – St Mary’s 0-12

Tubbercurry claimed their first Sligo Senior Football title in 23 years with a 9 point win over St Mary’s at Markievicz Park. Tubbercurry, who lost last year’s final, went in a point up 0-6 to 0-5 having been three down. Goals from Morahan and Killoran (2) sealed the win.


Offaly SFC

Rhode 0-13 – Edenderry 1-7

Rhode are once again Kings of Offaly football after a three point win over Edenderry. A plucky Edenderry outfit never gave up and after their captain was black carded, still managed to reel Rhode back to just three points. However the classy Niall McNamee with 0-7 saw Rhode over the line.


Carlow SFC

Rathvilly 2-9 – Old Leighlin 1-10

Dr Cullen Park saw Rathvilly clinch their 8th senior crown with a narrow win over Old Leighlin. First half goals for Rathvilly from Diarmuid Cronin and Alan Kelly were answered by Hughie Gahan and the sides were level at the break. Rathvilly pushed on in the second period to record a two point victory.


Wicklow SFC

Rathnew 1-8 – St Patrick’s 0-7

Rathnew retained their title thanks to a late goal from Mark Doyle. They had built a four point lead that St Patrick’s cut down to just one. It had been an evenly contested game throughout until Doyle popped up in injury time to put the contest out of St Patrick’s grasp.

John Ivory, Pundit Arena.



Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: cratloe, GAA, Gaelic Football

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team. If you would like to join the team, drop us an email at View all posts by The PA Team