Close sidebar

Dublin’s Starting XV For Season Opening O’Byrne Cup Clash Has Been Named

Leinster GAA Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final, O'Moore Park, Portlaoise, Co. Laois 3/6/2017 Carlow vs Dublin The Dublin team huddle Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Dublin take on Offaly in the O’Byrne Cup in what is the first game of their 2018 season on Wednesday night in Parnell Park at 8 p.m.

However, with the All-Ireland winning panel and management of 2017 currently on their team holiday, the squad named for the Offaly clash includes a host of unfamiliar names for those outside of the capital.

It is worth remembering that Dublin are the defending champions of this pre-season tournament, having won it with a panel of u-21 and fringe players last season. Several of those development players are included in the team to start the Dubs’ 2018 opening clash.

Paul Clarke, who took the reins in the absence of Jim Gavin last season at this time, will be the man in charge of the Dublin side charged with defending their O’Byrne Cup crown again this time around.

There are five players who helped Dublin to All-Ireland success at u-21 level named in the squad for Wednesday night’s fixture. Those are Colm Basquel, Brian Howard, Sean McMahon, Glenn O’Reilly and Chris Sallier.

Meanwhile, Howard is the only member of the panel who saw championship action last summer en route to the county’s historic third Sam Maguire Cup victory in-a-row.

Offaly have also named their team to start at Parnell Park.


1. Andy Bunyan (Scoil Uí Chonaill)
2. Ross McGowan (Kilmacud Crokes)
3. Graham Hannigan (Castleknock)
4. Brian Howard (Raheny)
5. David Devereux (Ballinteer St John’s)
6. Seán McMahon (Raheny)
7. Gerry Seaver (Ballyboughal)
8. Emmet Ó Conghaile (Lucan Sarsfields)
9. Aaron Elliot (Ballymun Kickhams)
10. Kieran Doherty (St Jude’s)
11. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
12. Glenn O’Reilly (Na Fianna)
13. Killian O’Gara (Templeogue Synge Street)
14. Shane Carthy (Naomh Mearnóg)
15. Chris Sallier (Thomas Davis)


16. John Brian Carthy (St Jude’s)
17. Craig Wilson (St Vincent’s)
18. Colin Doyle (Naomh Olaf)
19. Darragh Kennedy (Na Fianna)
20. Eoin O’Brien (Castleknock)
21. Tom Quinn (Castleknock)
22. Ryan Deegan (Thomas Davis)
23. Seamus Ryan (St Jude’s)
24. Kevin Callaghan (St Brigid’s)
25. Adam Rodgers (Ballyboughal)
26. Chris Carthy (Naomh Maur)
27. Niall Walsh (St Oliver Plunkett’s/Eoghan Ruadh)


1. Alan Mulhall (Walsh Island)
2. Daithi Brady (Edenderry)
3. James Lalor (Raheen)
4. Sean Pender (Edenderry)
5. David Dempsey (Ballycommon)
6. Cian Donohue (St Brigid’s)
7. Declan Hogan (Tullamore)
8. Craig Dunne (Gracefield)
9. Shane Nally (Ferbane)
10. Jordan Hayes (Edenderry)
11. Anton Sullivan (Rhode – captain)
12. Michael Brazil (Tullamore)
13. Bernard Allen (Tubber)
14. Cian Johnston (Ferbane)
15. Sean Doyle (Edenderry)


16. Paddy Dunican (Shamrocks)
17. Gerry Spollen (Ballinamere)
18. Nigel Dunne (Shamrocks)
19. Jack Egan (Ferbane)
20. Joey O’ Connor (St Rynagh’s)
21. Bobby O’Dea (Durrow)
22. Paul McConway (Tullamore)
23. Conor McNamee (Rhode)
24. Shane Tierney (Daingean)
25. Barry Rohan (Shannonbridge)
26. Niall Darby (Rhode)

Read More About: , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.