Close sidebar

Dublin Mount Second Half Comeback To Blow Kildare Away In League Opener

Dublin got their Allianz National Football League off to a perfect start in Croke Park this evening, as they saw off a spirited Kildare performance on a scoreline of 2-17 to 2-10.

The All-Ireland champions started slowly, after Luke Flynn was the benefactor of some lax Dublin defending to field a shot kicked short by Paul Cribbin to bury it past Stephen Cluxton.

The Boys in Blue rallied with points from Ciaran Kilkenny and Dean Rock, as they trailed by two points at the break, on a scoreline of 1-06 to 0-07.

Upon emerging for the second half, the Dubs upped it a gear, and left Kildare shell-shocked, scoring 2-05 without reply to kill off the tie.

Shooting into the Hill 16 end, the Dubs started punching holes in the Lilywhites’ defence, but squandered two glaring chances to raise a green flag. However, when the floodgates opened, it was far too easy for the Dubs forwards, as Dean Rock and an impressive Brian Fenton rattled the net.

As Jim Gavin emptied his bench, the scores continued to flow, as Cian O’Neill’s side rued a drop-off in intensity which allowed Dublin to take control of the tie. A late goal from Daniel Flynn put some gloss on the scoreboard, as Dublin ran out winners 2-17 to 2-10.



Brian Fenton 1-03, Dean Rock 1-02 (0-02 frees), Colm Basquel 0-03, Ciarán Kilkenny 0-02, Niall Scully 0-02, Brian Howard 0-02, Bernard Brogan 0-01, John Small 0-01, Kevin McManamon.


Daniel Flynn 1-02, Éamonn Callaghan 0-03 (0-3 frees), Luke Flynn 1-00, Kevin Feely 0-02 (0-01 free), Neil Flynn 0-01, Mark Donnellan 0-01 (0-01 free), Paul Cribbin 0-01.



1. Stephen Cluxton
2. David Byrne
3. Michael Fitzsimons
4. Darren Daly
5. Eric Lowndes
6. James McCarthy
7. John Small
8. Brian Fenton
9. Michael Darragh Macauley
10. Brian Howard
11. Ciarán Kilkenny
12. Niall Scully
13. Colm Basquel
14. Dean Rock
15. Bernard Brogan


Michael Darragh Macauley replaced by Kevin McManoman
Michael Fitzsimons replaced by Philly McMahon
Dean Rock replaced by Paul Mannion
Darren Daly replaced by Cillian O’Shea
Bernard Brogan replaced by Paddy Andrews


1. Mark Donnellan
2. Peter Kelly
3. David Hyland
4. Mick O’Grady
5. Johnny Byrne
6. Eoin Doyle
7. Cian O’Donoghue
8. Kevin Feely
9. Luke Flynn
10. Fergal Conway
11. Chris Healy
12. Paul Cribbin
13. Neil Flynn
14. Daniel Flynn
15. Cathal McNally


Chris Healy replaced by Niall Kelly (black card)
Peter Kelly replaced by Mark Hyland
Kevin Feely replaced by Éamonn Callaghan
Luke Flynn replaced by Ben McCormack
Fergal Conway replaced by Tommy Moolick

Read More About: , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.