Close sidebar

Pic: The Betting Odds For Footballer Of The Year 2016

With only one game left in the Championship, there is usually a stand-alone front-runner for Footballer of the Year. What about 2016? Dublin and Mayo lock horns in tomorrow’s decider, and in truth, there are several names in the mix.

Mayo negotiated a path to the final after a Connacht loss to Galway. The Westerners beat Fermanagh, Kildare and Westmeath in the qualifiers, before bettering Tyrone and Tipperary in the quarter and semi-finals.

Dublin eased through Leinster, as per usual at this stage, and had too much for Donegal and Kerry to reach the decider.

When it comes to a stand-out player for either side, there are none, as several are vying for the title.

Mayo have seen Aidan O’Shea, Lee Keegan, Keith Higgins and the O’Connors impress, while Dublin’s Diarmuid Connolly, Ciarán Kilkenny, Kevin McMnaman and Brian Fenton are all within a shout. This is not to say that they are the only options.

Judging by bookmaker Paddy Power’s odds, the race for Footballer of the Year is wide open.

Footballer of the YEar

There is a lot more football to be played in the All-Ireland Senior Championship of 2016, with 70 minutes of action in store tomorrow, somebody will make a break for the proverbial finish line, and make a case for the award.


Read next: These stats show just how valuable Ciarán Kilkenny is to Dublin.


Read More About: , , , , , , , , ,

Author: The PA Team

This article was written by a member of The PA Team.