Home GAA New Faces On Display As Tipperary And Cork Name Teams For Championship Opener

New Faces On Display As Tipperary And Cork Name Teams For Championship Opener

Tipperary get their All-Ireland defence underway this weekend when the face off against Cork in Semple Stadium on Sunday. 

For Tipperary, 13 of the side who lifted the Liam McCarthy last September get the nod with the two changes in the team coming from the introduction of John O’Keefe and Sean Curran.

O’Keefe is named at corner-back in the place of Michael Cahill who is currently sidelined with a hamstring injury. Curran comes in at centre-forward as Michael Breen drops back into midfield.

For the Rebel County, five of their starting 15 will be making their Championship debuts – corner-back Colm Spillane, wing-back Mark Coleman, midfielder Darragh Fitzgibbon, wing-forward Shane Kingston and corner-forward Luke Meade.

Cork will definitely be up against it considering the lack of experience in their side but hopefully, this match will kick off what will be an exciting Munster Hurling Championship.

CORK (SH v Tipperary): A Nash (Kanturk); S McDonnell (Glen Rovers), D Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), C Spillane (Castlelyons); C Joyce (Na Piarsaigh), M Ellis (Millstreet), M Coleman (Blarney); B Cooper (Youghal), D Fitzgibbon (Charleville); S Harnedy (St Ita’s), C Lehane (Midleton), S Kingston (Douglas); A Cadogan (Douglas), P Horgan (Glen Rovers), L Meade (Newcestown). Subs: P Collins (Ballinhassig), C O’Sullivan (Sarsfields), K Burke (Midleton), L McLoughlin (Kanturk), C O’Leary (Valley Rovers), B Lawton (Castlemartyr), D Brosnan (Glen Rovers), L O’Farrell (Midleton), M Cahalane (Bandon), M O’Halloran (Blackrock), C Murphy (Mallow).

TIPPERARY (SH v Cork): D Gleeson (Portroe); C Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill), J Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), J O’Keeffe (Clonoulty-Rossmore); S Kennedy (St Mary’s), R Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Pádraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields); B Maher (Borris-Ileigh), M Breen (Ballina); D McCormack (Borris-Ileigh), S Curran (Mullinahone), N McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney); J O’Dwyer (Killenaule), S Callanan (Drom & Inch), J McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney).

About Sean McMahon

Sean is Head of Pundit Arena Rugby. Contact him on Twitter here: