Limerick will be without Declan Hannon for the All Ireland Hurling Final

Limerick will be without Declan Hannon for the All Ireland Hurling Final

Limerick will have to win this Sunday’s All Ireland Final without Declan Hannon.

Limerick have named their squad for Sunday’s All Ireland Senior Hurling Final (throw in 3.30pm) against Kilkenny and captain Declan Hannon has failed to prove his fitness in time to be included.

Hannon captained Limerick to their last four All-Ireland triumphs but misses out on this occasion because of a knee injury.

That means William O’Donoghue remains at centre-back for the Treaty County where he impressed in the semi-final dismantling of Galway.

Hannon has been an integral part of Limerick’s success under John Kiely but O’Donoghue has proven his capabilities on the big stage time and time again so Limerick fans will no doubt trust him to deliver again this weekend.

There was better news for Kilkenny whose main injury concern surrounded David Blanchfield. Thankfully for the Cats however, he has been passed fit to start despite hurting his lungs in their semi-final defeat of Clare.

David Blanchfield

All Ireland Final Teams

LIMERICKNickie Quaid (Effin), Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Barry Nash (South Liberties); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry); Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell); Gearóid Hegarty (St Patrick’s), David Reidy (Dromin-Athlacca), Tom Morrissey (Ahane); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh).

Subs:David McCarthy (Glenroe), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Connolly (Adare), Aaron Costello (Kilmallock), Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown), Adam English (Doon), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Barry Murphy (Doon), Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown), Cathal O’Neill (Crecora-Manister), Oisin O’Reilly (Kilmallock)

KILKENNY: Eoin Murphy (Glenmore); Mikey Butler (O’Loughlin Gaels), Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan); David Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge), Richie Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels); Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own), Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks); Tom Phelan (Conahy Shamrocks), Martin Keoghan (Tullaroan), John Donnelly (Thomastown); Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan), T.J. Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Eoin Cody (c, Ballyhale Shamrocks).

Substitutes: Darren Brennan (St Lachtain’s), Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own), Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro), Pádraig Walsh (Tullaroan), Darragh Corcoran (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Alan Murphy (Glenmore), Cian Kenny (James Stephens), Timmy Clifford (Dicksboro), Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon), Richie Hogan (Danesfort), Billy Drennan (Galmoy).