Close sidebar

Tipperary Dominate Sunday Game Hurling Team Of The Year

The Sunday Game have selected their 2019 Hurling Team of the Year with All-Ireland champions Tipperary dominating proceedings.

The Premier County clinched the Liam MacCarthy Cup with a 3-25 to 0-20 victory over rivals Kilkenny in this year’s showcase at Croke Park.

Ronan Maher, Padraic Maher and Brendan Maher were all included for Liam Sheedy’s side along with the panel’s choice for Hurler of the Year, Noel McGrath.

Cathal Barrett and Seamus Callanan round out the selections for Tipp, with beaten finalists Kilkenny having the quartet of Eoin Murphy, Padraig Walsh, TJ Reid and Colin Fennelly all in the panel’s XV.

Diarmuid O’Keefe and Lee Chin were Wexford’s representatives while last year’s champions and this year’s beaten semi-finalists Limerick had Sean Finn and Aaron Gillane selected.

Patrick Horgan, Cork’s sole representative, rounded out the team which was voted on by a selection of the programme’s panellists.

cork clare

The panel also selected Kilkenny’s Adrian Mullen as the Young Hurler of the Year.


The Sunday Game Hurling Team of the Year

1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny)

2. Sean Finn (Limerick)
3. Ronan Maher (Tipperary)
4. Cathal Barrett (Tipperary)

5. Brendan Maher (Tipperary)
6. Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)
7. Padraic Maher (Tipperary)

8. Diarmuid O’Keeffe (Wexford)
9. Noel McGrath (Tipperary)

10. Lee Chin (Wexford)
11. TJ Reid (Kilkenny)
12. Colin Fennelly (Kilkenny)

13. Aaron Gillane (Limerick)
14. Seamus Callanan (Tipperary)
15. Patrick Horgan (Cork)

Read More About: , ,

Author: Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here [email protected]