Close sidebar

All-Ireland Winning Dubs Trio Nominated For Footballer Of The Year

Share and Enjoy !

The Dublin trio of Brian Fenton, Jack McCaffrey and Ciaran Kilkenny have all been nominated for 2018 Footballer of the Year after Jim Gavin’s men clinched their fourth All-Ireland title in a row.

Defender Jack McCaffrey is nominated for the accolade for the second time having previously been the Footballer of the Year in 2015.

The Clontarf man had an incredible return to the Dublin fold following a cruciate knee ligament injury in 2017 and bounced back excellently to secure another nomination this year.

The winner will be the fifth Dublin player to win the award with McCaffrey in 2015 as previously mentioned, Michael Dara McAuley in 2013, Alan Brogan in 2011 and Bernard Brogan in 2010.

Forward Ciaran Kilkenny is the favourite to snag the crown after a tremendous championship of scoring, which seen him grab his second nomination, with his first coming in 2016, where he narrowly missed out on the award to Mayo’s Lee Keegan.

Raheny’s Brian Fenton is the final player to make the three-man shortlist, after the midfielder’s string of excellent performances in the middle of the park for Dublin.

Fenton was also in the running for the 2016 Footballer of the Year, but like Kilkenny, he did not secure the award.

It is the first time since 2015 that Dublin have had all three nominees in the Footballer of the Year battle.

Dublin also had one nominee in the Young Footballer of the Year category with Brian Howard getting the nod alongside Kerry’s David Clifford and Tyrone’s Michael McKernan.

Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: , , , ,

Author: Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here