David Clifford Crowns Impressive Debut Season With All-Star Nod

Kerry prodigy David Clifford crowned an incredibly impressive debut season at senior inter-county level with an inclusion in the 2018 All-Stars.

The only representative from the Kingdom, Clifford proved the hype around him was real this season, putting in some tremendous displays in the Kerry forward line which included that last-gasp goal against Monaghan.

Clifford was particularly impressive in Kerry’s three Super 8 games putting up a ridiculous shooting accuracy average of 78% despite the Kingdom’s disappointing season overall.

All-Ireland winners Dublin dominated this year’s awards with seven of Jim Gavin’s Sam Maguire winning side featured in the annual 15 man lineup.

Jonny Cooper picks up his second award in the full-back line with Paul Mannion also grabbing All-Star number two after an excellent season for the Kilmacud Crokes man.

Footballer of the Year favourite Ciaran Kilkenny gets his third nod alongside James McCarthy and Jack McCaffrey who each also collect a third all-star from their glittering careers.

Dublin also dominate the midfield pairing with Brian Howard receiving his first All-Star alongside the inspirational Brian Fenton who adds to his inclusions in 2015 and 2016.

Monaghan are also well represented in the team with Rory Beggan getting the nod in goals over All-Ireland winning Stephen Cluxton, as well as flying wing-back Karl O’Connell getting his first inclusion.

Full-forward Conor McManus rounds out the Monaghan contingent with his third inclusion in an All-Star side.

Beaten All-Ireland finalists Tyrone have two names in the selected 15 with Padraig Hampsey included in the full-back line for the first time and Colm Cavanagh selected again after his previous inclusion last year.

Ryan McHugh of Donegal and first-time All-Star Ian Burke of Galway round out the side.

2018 PwC Football All-Stars


1.Rory Beggan (Monaghan)


2. Jonny Cooper (Dublin)

3. Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)

4. Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)

5. Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)

6. James McCarthy (Dublin)

7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)


8. Brian Fenton (Dublin).

9. Brian Howard (Dublin)


10. Paul Mannion (Dublin)

11. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)

12. Ryan McHugh (Donegal)

13. David Clifford (Kerry)

14. Conor McManus (Monaghan)

15. Ian Burke (Galway)

Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here oisin@punditarena.com

Published by

Recent Posts

Gary Neville Offers Blunt Assessment Of Andy Robertson’s Performance

Gary Neville has said that Liverpool defender Andy Robertson was 'playing like he had a week on the lash' after… Read More

58 mins ago

VAR Controversy As Tottenham Denied Equaliser Against Sheffield United

VAR has ruled out Harry Kane's goal for Tottenham in their game against Sheffield United due to a handball from… Read More

4 hours ago

Quiz: Name The Scorers Of The Fastest Goals In Premier League History

How well do you remember some of the Premier League's earliest goalscorers? Since the Premier League's first season in 1992/1993… Read More

5 hours ago

Leeds United Facing Difficult Dilemma With Striker Jean-Kevin Augustin

Leeds United face a difficult dilemma concerning Jean-Kevin Augustin, with the striker reportedly feeling that the club no longer want… Read More

6 hours ago

Pundit Arena Daily GAA Trivia Challenge  – Day 50

Welcome to day 50, the final day of Pundit Arena’s daily GAA trivia challenge. Each day, we’ll give you 20… Read More

6 hours ago

Man United Cult Hero on the Time Roy Keane Called out a World Cup Winner

Roy Keane will forever be remembered. One of the greatest players in Manchester United's history, Keane drove consistently-high standards at… Read More

7 hours ago