Home GAA Connolly Starts As Dublin Make Six Changes From Original Starting XV

Connolly Starts As Dublin Make Six Changes From Original Starting XV

Diarmuid Connolly has been named in the Dublin starting XV for this afternoon’s clash against Tyrone with Jim Gavin making six changes to the team that was named on Saturday.

Connolly is among a host of different faces in the starting team with Evan Comerford, Andrew McGowan, Sean Bugler, Paddy Small & Paddy Andrews all starting while Stephen Cluxton, Philip McMahon, Brian Fenton, Brian Howard, Eoghan O’Gara & Con O’Callaghan drop out.

Rory O’Carroll is still present as he makes his long-awaited return to the starting fifteen following his return from New Zealand.

Their opponents Tyrone keeps the same team as was named on Saturday, with fifteen changes from the win over Cork last time out.

The big talking point though will be the return of Connolly who has not played for the All-Ireland champions since their Allianz League victory over Mayo in 2018 with his last Championship appearance coming in the 2017 All-Ireland final when he was sprung from the bench in the second half to play a key role as Jim Gavin’s side secured the three-in-a-row.

Connolly spent last summer in the United States where he lined out with Donegal Boston and he was due to link up with the same club this summer, however, an issue with his visa saw the move fall through at the last minute.

The former All-Star then returned to the Dublin set-up ahead of their Super 8s victory over Roscommon two weeks ago and now he’s been named among the starting XV for Sunday’s dead-rubber clash with the Red Hands.

About Oisin McQueirns

Oisin McQueirns is a digital journalist at Pundit Arena. Massive fan of Leeds United, Ric Flair and Trusting The Process. Contact him here oisin@punditarena.com