Close sidebar

Tipperary Hammer Wexford To Set-Up All-Ireland Decider With Cork

Wexford 1-15

Tipperary 8-16

A four-goal flurry in the opening half helped propel Tipperary to this year’s All-Ireland U20 Hurling final where they will play Cork in a repeat of last year’s decider. 

Wexford were the opponents today but the young yellowbellies were completely overwhelmed by their Munster opponents and current title-holders.

The two sides went tit-for-tat in the opening minutes and Wexford led by a single score after six minutes until Jerome Cahill put Andrew Ormond through who finished to the net.

Tipperary soon started to run away with it with two quickfire goals through Jake Morris and Billy Seymour to put them eight ahead.

Seymour finished to the net after an excellent solo run through the heart of the Wexford defence while Morris, whose confidence is sky-high given his Munster final and All-Ireland SFC semi-final exploits, fired a rasper of a shot to the bottom corner.

Wexford’s plight went from bad to worse when Andrew Ormond collected a short pass before turning inside and firing low into the corner for his second and Tipperary’s fourth goal.

Morris stretched the Tipperary lead to twelve before Wexford were dealt a lifeline when a long ball into the full-forward line was deflected into the goal by Sean Keane Carroll to cut the lead to nine before Ross Banville pointed to leave eight between the sides at the break. 1-7 to 4-6.

It didn’t get much better for Wexford in the second half when Cahill capitalised on a defensive error to score Tipperary’s fifth goal of the day before Morris tagged on another score.

Wexford battled bravely with Banville, Johnny Ryan and Séan Hayes leading the yellowbellies’ charge but Tipperary continued to keep the scoreboard ticking over as 13 points separated the sides as the game entered the final quarter.

Tipperary were a step ahead of their Leinster counterparts all day as their defence swept up everything in front of them with captain, Craig Morgan, particularly impressive.

Morris and Banville traded scores yet again but try and try as they did Wexford could never get up to the pace of their Tipperary counterparts as Cahill grabbed his side’s sixth goal with a smart finish.

Jake Morris was replaced after yet another barnstorming performance which give some of their other players a chance to shine. Sean Hayes grabbed that opportunity with two hands by firing to the net for Tipperary’s seventh goal.

The route was officially finished when Billy Seymour scrambled home Tipperay’s eight goal of the goal after his initial shot rebounded off the post.

A masterful performance from Tipperary but you have to feel sorry for the Wexford lads.

It’s onto the All-Ireland final now for Tipperary where they will meet old rivals, Cork, in what is a repeat of this year’s Munster final and last year’s All-Ireland final.

Read More About: , ,