Close sidebar

Cian Lynch & Declan Hannon Missing From Limerick XV To Face Tipperary

John Kiely has made four changes ahead of Limerick’s final Munster SFC round-robin game with Tipperary on Sunday.

Last year’s All-Ireland winning captain, Declan Hannon, and Hurler of the Year, Cian Lynch, both drop out of the starting XV for the clash at Semple Stadium.

The other two players not included following the county’s biggest ever Munster SHC win over Clare last week is All-Star, Graeme Mulcahy, and Gearoid Hegarty.

limerick tipperary

However, such is the quality of this Limerick side that they are able to call in serious reinforcements for Sunday’s pivotal clash with Liam Sheedy’s men. Shane Dowling, Seamus Flanagan, Dan Morrissey and Darragh O’Donovan are all included in Sunday’s starting XV with Morrissey’s brother Tom given the role of captaincy in place of Hannon.

Of the four men making way, only Hannon is not named among the substitutes meaning Sunday’s encounter marks the first time he’s not been included in the Treaty starting XV since a 2015 All-Ireland qualifier clash with Westmeath.

Meanwhile, Tipperary have made three changes to the side that defeated Clare in Ennis two week’s ago. James Barry, Sean O’Brien and Jake Morris come into the team in place of Alan Flynn, Barry Heffernan and Dan McCormack.

limerick tipperary


Limerick XV

Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Dan Morrissey, Paddy O’Loughlin; Darragh O’Donovan, William O’Donoghue; Shane Dowling, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Peter Casey.

Tipperary XV

Brian Hogan; Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Sean O’Brien; Brendan Maher, Padraic Maher, Ronan Maher; Michael Breen, Noel McGrath; Patrick Maher, John O’Dwyer, Jake Morris; John McGrath, Séamus Callanan (c), Jason Forde.

Read More About: , , , ,