Close sidebar

No Clifford Or Kilkenny As Sunday Game Name Team Of The Year

sunday game

Following the completion of a historic five-in-a-row Dublin have seven representatives on The Sunday Game Team of the Year.

Captain and leader Stephen Cluxton is joined on the panel by Mick Fitzsimons, Jack McCaffrey, Brian Fenton, Brian Howard, Paul Mannion and Con O’Callaghan.

Beaten finalists Kerry boast two players on the team with Tom O’Sullivan named at corner-back and David Moran at midfield. Mayo also have two representatives in the shape of Paddy Durcan and Colm Boyle.

sunday game

Tyrone also have two players on the team at either end of the field with Ronan McNamee named at full-back while Cathal McShane is at full-forward.

Despite being named Man of the Match in Saturday’s final there was no spot on the team for Ciarán Kilkenny while David Clifford was omitted despite the panel agreeing that he should win the Young Player of the Year award.

The panel selected Con O’Callaghan as The Sunday Game Footballer of the Year.

The Sunday Game Team of The Year

  1. Stephen Cluxton
  2. Mick Fitzsimons
  3. Ronan McNamee
  4. Tom O’Sullivan
  5. Paddy Durcan
  6. Colm Boyle
  7. Jack McCaffrey
  8. Brian Fenton
  9. David Moran
  10. Michael Murphy
  11. Seán O’Shea
  12. Brian Howard
  13. Paul Mannion
  14. Cathal McShane
  15. Con O’Callaghan

Read More About: , ,