Close sidebar

Molloy & Mullen Walk Away With Club Player Of The Year Awards

Corofin defender, Kieran Molloy and Ballyhale Shamrocks attacker, Adrian Mullen have been named AIB Club Footballer and Hurler of the Year respectively following a ceremony in Croke Park last night. 

Wing-back, Molloy recently collected his second All-Ireland club medal following Corofin’s dismantling of Dr Crokes last month.

Molly has been in tantalising form in the past 18 months, both with his club and college. Just last year he was made to play an All-Ireland club semi-final on the same day as the Sigerson Cup Final following a fixtures pile up.

The Galway defender has been honoured following a fantastic club campaign that saw him torment both defences and attacks up and down the country. His performance in the recent St. Patrick’s Day final was a sight to behold.

Mullen was instrumental in Ballyhale’s run to glory in 2019 under Henry Shefflin. Mullen scored 2-11 across the club campaign, including 2-1 in the Leinster Final win over Ballyboden and 0-5 in last month’s All-Ireland Final against St. Thomas.

The pair were both rewarded at a ceremony in Croke Park last night were Molloy was one of seven players named on the AIB Club Football Team of the Year, while Mullen was one of six Ballyhale stars to be honoured on the hurling selection.

AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards – Hurling 2019

Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner); Eoghan Campbell (Ruairí Óg), Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Ian Kenny (Ballygunner); Philip Mahony (Ballygunner), Michael Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Fintan Burke (St Thomas); Shane O’Sullivan (Ballygunner), Neil McManus (Ruairí Óg); Adrian Mullen (Ballyhale Shamrocks), TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner); Eoin Cody (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Colin Fennelly (Ballyhale Shamrocks), Brian Carroll (Coolderry).

AIB GAA Club Players’ Awards – Football 2019

Bernard Power (Corofin); Liam Silke (Corofin), Patrick Fox (Mullinalaghta), Odhrán McFadden-Ferry (Gaoth Dobhair); Kieran Molloy (Corofin), Gavin White (Dr. Crokes), Donal McElligott (Mullinalaghta); Daithí Burke (Corofin), Odhrán MacNiallais (Gaoth Dobhair); Gary Sice (Corofin), Kieran O’Leary (Dr Crokes), Jason Leonard (Corofin); Tony Brosnan (Dr Crokes), Kevin Cassidy (Gaoth Dobhair), Martin Farragher (Corofin)

Read More About: , , , , , ,