Home GAA Molloy Drafted In To Galway XV For Connacht Semi-Final With Sligo

Molloy Drafted In To Galway XV For Connacht Semi-Final With Sligo

Kieran Molloy has been drafted into the Galway starting XV as they take on Sligo for a place in this year’s Connacht Senior Football final.  

The AIB Club Footballer of the Year comes into the squad at right half-back with his Corofin club mate, Bernard Power, replacing Ruairi Lavelle in the Galway goals.

The other two changes from the Tribesmen’s last outing with London two weeks ago sees the experienced, Gareth Bradshaw, come in at centre-back, while Fiontán Ó Curraoin gets the nod from Kevin Walsh to partner Thomas Flynn at midfield.

kieran molloy

John Daly and Antoine O’Laoi retain their place in the starting XV having been handed their championship debuts against London in Ruislip.

Shane Walsh was named a full-forward for the trip to London but has reverted to right-half forward for this weekend’s clash with All-Star, Ian Burke, named on the edge of the square.

Sligo will be captained by Niall Murphy as Paul Taylor’s men look to take a huge scalp and inject some positivity into their season having lost all seven league games resulting in relegation to Division 4.

kieran molloy

The Connacht Senior Football Championship semi-final will throw in at 3.30 pm on Sunday in Markievicz Park.


Galway XV

Bernard Power; Eoghan Kerin, Seán Andy Ó Ceallaigh, Liam Silke; Kieran Molloy, Gareth Bradshaw, John Daly; Thomas Flynn, Fiontán Ó Curraoin; Shane Walsh, Michael Daly, Johnny Heaney; Antaine Ó Laoi, Ian Burke, Danny Cummins.

Sligo XV

Eamonn Killgannon; Michael Gordon, Peter Laffey, Keelan Cawley; Gerard O’Kelly Lynch, Darragh Cummins, Paul Mc Namara; Adrain McIntyre, Paul Kilcoyne; Mikey Gordon, Sean Carrabine, Nathan Mullen; Paddy O’Connor, Adrian Marren, Niall Murphy.

About Michael Corry

Sports Journalist based in Dublin. Hit me up if you have a unique story to tell. Email: michael@punditarena.com Twitter: @Corry_10 Instagram: @Corry_10