Home GAA Major Stars: Minor Football XV Made Up Of Names To Remember

Major Stars: Minor Football XV Made Up Of Names To Remember

In association with

What a season it was in the Electric Ireland Minor Football Championships. Cork finished as champions, but the campaign had a lot of twists and turns along the way.

Kerry were seeking their sixth consecutive title only to be stopped in their tracks by Galway in the semi-final while Mayo and Dublin played out a quarter-final classic that had the purists purring. 

Along the way, a number of stars of the future stood out from the rest and these leaders have been selected by an esteemed panel of GAA experts to make up the 2019 Electric Ireland Minor Star Awards Football Team of the Year.

electric ireland stars


  1. Devon Burns (Kerry)

The Na Gaeil club man was in excellent form all season long for the Kingdom. Missed out on the six-in-a-row following a tough semi-final defeat to Galway. Kerry lost by a point on the day, but Burns could not be blamed at all after producing three fantastic saves to keep the Tribesmen at bay. 

  1. Jonathan McGrath (Galway)

Man of the Match in Galway’s semi-final win over Kerry. Caherlistrane’s own was in impeccable form for the young Tribesmen en route to the All-Ireland decider. The undoubted leader in what was a star-studded Galway side, it comes as no surprise that their captain has been rewarded.

electric ireland minor stars

  1. Oisín Tunney (Mayo)

A teak-tough defender who overcame all the odds to make a real impact for Mayo en route to a Connacht title this season. A classic, old fashioned defender, Tunney spent the entire season dispossessing some of the game’s best forwards. Will be a huge asset to Breaffy and Mayo going forward.

electric ireland minor stars

  1. Ronan Boyle (Monaghan)

Back-to-back Ulster champions Monaghan are represented in the team by Ronan Boyle at corner-back. Was consistently tasked with marking the opposition’s key forwards in 2019 and the Truagh Gaels man came up trumps every time. 

  1. Darragh Cashman (Cork)

One to keep an eye on for the future. Cashman’s defensive capabilities can sometimes get overlooked due to his effectiveness going forward. The Millstreet wing-back kicked two beautiful scores from play in either half of this season’s All-Ireland final while also carrying out his defensive duties to great effect. 

electric ireland minor stars

  1. Daniel Linehan (Cork)

Consistently wore number three on his back but operated out the field for Cork throughout their successful All-Ireland winning campaign. Scored one of the best goals Croke park has ever seen in the Rebel’s semi-final victory over Mayo.

  1. James Donaghy (Tyrone)

It would seem that the Carrickmore club in Tyrone have produced another county standard wing-back in the shape of James Donaghy, following on from county legend Conor Gormley. The only difference between these two is that Donaghy’s effectiveness going forward and kicking scores is a joy to behold.

  1. Ethan Henry (Mayo)

The Mayo Gaels man epitomised everything that was good about Connacht Champions Mayo in 2019. His driving runs from midfield looked nigh on impossible to stop while his accuracy from dead balls was something seldom seen from a midfielder his size. Consistently excellent.

  1. James McLaughlin (Galway)

Moycullen’s James McLaughlin may well be remembered for his fantastic solo goal straight from the throw-in against Kildare in Galway’s quarter-final victory over the Leinster Champions. A real leader for Galway en route to the All-Ireland final and one to keep an eye on for future success.

  1. Aaron Browne (Kildare)

An early-season Electric Ireland player of the week winner, Celbridge attacker Aaron Browne was the standout forward in a Kildare side that claimed Leinster success in 2019. Kicked 1-7 in their final win over Dublin and was equally as effective in defeat against Galway kicking 0-5.

  1. Conor Corbett (Cork)

Not many can say they kicked 1-7 from play in an All-Ireland final but Corbett can. Virtually unmarkable throughout Cork’s successful run with his display in the Croke Park finale a performance for the ages. Cork found themselves in bother a few times this season, when they did, they looked to the Clyda Rovers man for inspiration. 

  1. Michael O’Neill (Cork)

O’Neill chipped in with 0-5 in Cork’s All-Ireland final win but the Buttevant man was a constant thorn in the side of opposition defenders all season long. Kicked vital scores for Cork when it mattered, both from play and placed kicks.

  1. Daniel Cox (Galway)

The diminutive Daniel Cox is another one to look out for in the future. Constantly buzzing around the scoring zone, he linked up beautifully with Tomo Culhane all season. Made his presence felt in each of Galway’s games, scoring a wonder goal in this year’s All-Ireland final. The second Moycullen man in the team.

  1. Tomo Culhane (Galway)

Salthill Knocknacarra’s Culhane may have finished on the losing side in this year’s decider, however, he could hold his head high after kicking 0-10 against a strong Cork defence. Galway’s undisputed leader up-front, Culhane proved deadly accurate from placed balls while also consistently displaying a level of skill expected from a target man at full-forward.

  1. Dylan Geaney (Kerry)

The Geaney dynasty continues. Kerry’s second representative on the 2019 team is Dylan Geaney (cousin of Paul). The Dingle native was a constant threat all season long for the Kingdom as they went in search of an unprecedented six-in-a-row.

About Michael Corry

Sports Journalist based in Dublin. Hit me up if you have a unique story to tell. Email: michael@punditarena.com Twitter: @Corry_10 Instagram: @Corry_10