Close sidebar

Jim Gavin Keeps Faith With Fifteen For Leinster SFC Final

jim gavin

Jim Gavin has named his side ahead of this afternoon’s Leinster SFC final against Meath in Croke Park.

The starting fifteen is unchanged from Dublin’s 15-point semi-final victory over Kildare two week’s ago.

Dublin’s attack will be spearheaded by Paul Mannion and Cormac Costello who shot 0-15 between them against Cian O’Neill’s side. They are joined up front by Niall Scully, Brian Howard, Ciaran Kilkenny and Con O’Callaghan.

Further back, Michael Darragh MacAuley keeps his place at midfield after being a late replacement last day out. He is partnered in the centre of the park by current Footballer of the Year, Brian Fenton.

Davy Byrne gets the nod at corner-back where he is joined in the full-back line by Mick Fitzsimons and Jack McCaffrey while Cian O’Sullivan is named at centre-back where he will be flanked by James McCarthy and John Small.

Stephen Cluxton captains the side from the goalkeeper position in what will be his 101st championship experience for the Sky Blues. Dublin are going in search of their ninth provincial crown in a row today were a win over rivals Meath marking their 14th Leinster title in the past 15 seasons.

Meath go into the game as huge underdogs and also named an unchanged side from their semi-final win over Laois.

The last time Dublin lost in the provincial championship came in 2010 when Meath hit them for five goals in a shock Leinster semi-final result. Since that lost Dublin haven’t tasted defeat in Leinster and have won six of the last eight All-Ireland titles.

Read More About: , , , ,