Home GAA Harte Hands Two Debuts As Tyrone Name Team For Kerry Opener

Harte Hands Two Debuts As Tyrone Name Team For Kerry Opener

Mickey Harte has named two debutants in his side for Sunday’s clash with Kerry in the opening round of this year’s Allianz Football League.

Galbally’s Liam Rafferty and Brian Kennedy of Derrylaughan come into the starting XV at right-corner-back and midfield respectively for the highly anticipated match at Fitzgerald Stadium.

Meanwhile, Harte has named nine of the side that lost out to Dublin in September’s All-Ireland football final including, Mattie Donnelly, Peter Harte, Niall Sludden & Tiernan McCann.

harte tyrone allianz league

Fresh from his off-season stint in the Irish Premiership, Niall Morgan returns to the Tyrone goal following the recent retirement of long-time rival, Mickey O’Neill.

Newcomer Rafferty is joined in the full-back line by Ronan McNamee and Hugh-Pat McGeary. Rory Brennan will anchor the Red Hands from centre-back, flanked by the ever-present McCann and All-Star nominee, Michael McKernan.

harte tyrone allianz league

Kennedy is joined in midfield by Declan McClure, whilst Donnelly, Harte & Sludden make up a half-forward line that must be considered one of the best in the country.

Cathal McShane and David Mulgrew are joined in the full-forward line by Darren McCurry who has returned to the panel after taking a year out last year and has shown some early season form kicking 0-9 in a man of the match performance against Armagh in the McKenna Cup final last Saturday.

Forgotten man, Kyle Coney is named among the Tyrone substitutes, alongside highly-rated youngster Darragh Canavan, son of Tyrone legend, Peter.

harte tyrone allianz league

Tyrone team to play Kerry:

1. Niall Morgan (Edendork)

2. Liam Rafferty (Galbally)
3. Ronan McNamee (Aghyaran)
4. Hugh Pat McGeary (Pomeroy)

5. Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher)
6. Rory Brennan (Trillick)
7. Michael McKernan (Coalisland)

8. Brian Kennedy (Derrylaughan)
9. Declan McClure (Clonoe)

10. Mattie Donnelly (Trillick)
11. Peter Harte (Errigal Ciaran)
12. Niall Sludden (Dromore)

13. Darren McCurry (Edendork)
14. David Mulgrew (Ardboe)
15. Cathal McShane (Eoghan Ruadh)


16. Benny Gallen (Aghyaran)
17. Lee Brennan (Trillick)
18. Darragh Canavan (Errigal Ciaran)
19. Kyle Coney (Ardboe)
20. Conan Grugan (Omagh)
21. Conal McCann (Killyclogher)
22. Aidan McCrory (Errigal Ciaran)
23. Ben McDonnell (Errigal Ciaran)
24. Kieran McGeary (Pomeroy)
25. Ciaran McLaughlin (Omagh)
26. Conor Meyler (Omagh)

About Michael Corry

Sports Journalist based in Dublin. Hit me up if you have a unique story to tell. Email: michael@punditarena.com Twitter: @Corry_10 Instagram: @Corry_10