Close sidebar

Six New Inductees Included In GAA’s Hall Of Fame

The GAA Museum has announced the induction of six former players, three footballers and three hurlers, into the Hall of Fame for 2019.

Denis ‘Ogie’ Moran (Kerry), Colm O’Rourke (Meath) and Larry Tompkins (Cork) were the football inductees, while hurling greats, Conor Hayes (Galway), Nicky English (Tipperary) and Terence ‘Sambo’ McNaughton (Antrim) were honoured as well.

The six players were selected from the timeframe 1985-1989 and it brings the total number of inductees across both codes to 54.

gaa hall of fame

All six were in attendance at today’s ceremony alongside their families. Personal objects including; medals, jerseys, awards and other sporting memorabilia are now on display in the GAA Museum’s Hall of Fame.

GAA President John Horan congratulated the players on joining the illustrious list.

“We cannot have great games without great players and today we get to pay due recognition to a group of footballers and hurlers who have a very special place in our history,” he said.

gaa hall of fame

“The GAA Museum Hall of Fame initiative is an opportunity to honour three hurlers and three footballers – not just for their exploits for club and county and for the success they enjoyed, but to acknowledge the enormous impact they had on our games and the inspiration they were to a generation who were lucky enough to see them play.

“Thanks to our GAA Digital Archive, their exploits have been preserved for future generations to savour and I congratulate them all.”

Read More About: , , , , , , ,