Plenty Of Draws & Dramatics As 20 County Finals Take Centre Stage

Draws and dramatic late winners. Just another weekend of county final action. 

Twenty different county championships were up for grabs this weekend across both codes. The Derry football final saw a 41-year drought come to an end while one Dublin footballer got in on the act, yet again, in the hurling championship.

In Cork, one of the GAA’s great clubs will have to continue their wait to regain the county title. While, out West, the All-Ireland champions called upon a county legend to get them out of jail.

Check out all the results from today’s county finals below.



Armagh SFC final:  Ballymacnab 2-9 Crossmaglen 2-18 (Athletic Grounds)

A shock upset looked on the cards as two goals from Gavin McParland and Jack Grugan had Ballymacnab in the ascendency ten minutes into the second half. However, Crossmaglen reeled off ten points in a row before late goals from Colin O’Connor and Oisin O’Neill ensured a 20th county title in 23 years.

Derry SFC final: Watty Graham’s, Glen 0-11 O’Donovan Rossa 0-12 (Magherafelt, Celtic Park) 

O’Donovan Rossa ended a 41-year drought by securing a one-point win over first-time finalists Watty Graham’s who had AFL star Conor Glass on the bench.

Donegal SFC final: Gaoth Dobhair 0-8 Naomh Conaill 0-8 (MacCumhaill Park) 

The Donegal final will go to a replay after Ciaran Thompson’s late 45 salvaged a draw for Naomh Conaill.

Monaghan SFC final: Clontibret 1-14 Scotstown 0-11 (Clones)

Clontibret are back on top of Monaghan football after Ryan McGuigan’s late goal helped them dethrone reigning champions Scotstown to lift their first title since 2014.

Kildare SFC final: Moorefield 2-9 Sarsfields 0-15 (St Conleths Park) 

Kildare’s Old Firm will have to cross paths one more time as Sarsfields bounced back from conceding two early goals to snatch a draw at the last.

Louth SFC final: Newtown Blues 2-9 Naomh Mairtin 1-9 (Gaelic Grounds) 

Newtown Blues collected their third Louth county championship in a row thanks to early goals from Alan Connor and Emmet Carolan.

Galway SFC final: Corofin 0-15 Tuam Stars 2-9 (Tuam Stadium) 

Gary Sice proved to be the hero yet again for Corofin as his last gasp point salvaged a draw for the All-Ireland champions against Tuam Stars who surely felt they had won a first county title in 25 years.

Mayo SFC final: Ballaghaderreen 1-11 Ballintubber 1-14 (Elvery’s MacHale Park)

Michael Plunkett was in scintillating form for Ballintubber as they pulled away from Andy Moran’s Ballaghaderreen to keep hold of the Connacht Gold Mayo SFC title.

Sligo SFC final: Coolera-Strandhill 0-9 Tourlestrane 2-17 (Markievicz Park) 

Tourlestrane are back on top in Sligo for the 14th time thanks to two goals from Liam Gaughan.

London SFC final: Fulham Irish 1-10 Tír Chonaill Gaels 1-11 (McGovern Park)

For the third year in a row, these two London heavyweights clashed in the senior football final and yet again there was little to separate the sides. TCG collected their sixth title of the decade thanks to this injury-time free from Liam Gavaghan.

Clare SFC final: Kilmurry-Ibrickane 0-9 Miltown-Malbay 0-9 (Cusack Park)

The two sides must battle it out again to decide who the Clare champions will be following a stalemate at Cusack Park.

Waterford: Ballinacourty 1-6 Rathgormack 2-6 (Fraher Field) 

Rathgormack claimed their first county football in 20 years following their three-point win over Ballinacourty.


Cork SHC final: Glen Rovers 1-16 Imokilly 2-17 (Páirc Uí Rinn) 

Imokilly are the three-peat champions in Cork thanks to a hard-fought two-point win over Patrick Horgan’s Glen Rovers.

Carlow SHC final: Mount Leinster Rangers 1-19 St Mullins 2-17 (Netwatch Cullen Park) 

St Mullins are Carlow champions for the 25th time after overcoming former All-Ireland finalists Mount Leinster Rangers by a single point in a cracking contest at Cullen Park.

Offaly SHC final: Birr 1-12 St Rynaghs 0-16 (O’Connor Park) 

St Rynaghs rallied late hitting the final three points to claim their 17th Offaly senior hurling title at the expense of four-time All-Ireland champions Birr whose wait for a first county title since 2008 continues.

Dublin SHC final: Cuala 1-18 St Brigids 1-14 (Parnell Park)

Former All-Ireland champions Cuala are Dublin kingpins once again after a four-point win over St. Brigids at Parnell Park. It will come as no surprise that Con O’Callaghan fired home their goal with the game’s first score.

Laois SHC final: Borris-Kilcotton 1-9 Rathdowney-Errill 0-17 (O’Moore Park) 

Rathdowney-Errill put to bed the ghosts of 2018 by claiming their sixth Laois county title with a comfortable win over Borris-Kilcotton.

Meath SHC final replay: Kildalkey 1-17 Kiltale 0-11 (Páirc Tailteann) 

Paddy Conneely hit 0-8 for Kildalkey as they secured the Meath senior hurling championship following a replay with Kiltale.

Westmeath SHC final: Clonkill 2-16 Castletown-Geoghegan 1-16 (TEG Cusack Park) 

This one went right down to the wire but first-half goals from Jordy Smyth and Paeder Scally ensured that Clonkill are Westmeath senior hurling champions for the second year running.

Leitrim SHC final: Carrick 1-20 Cluainín Iomáint 0-21 (Páirc Seán MacDiarmada)

Stephen Goldrick’s extra-time goal helped Carrick maintain their grip on the Leitrim senior hurling championship.

Read More About: `, Con O'Callaghan, county finals, GAA, Gaelic Football, Hurling, Top Story

Author: Michael Corry

Sports Journalist born in Armagh, based in Dublin. Interested in feature writing and listening to unique, engaging stories. Up for the craic too. Email: Twitter: @MickCorryPA Instagram: @Corry_10 View all posts by Michael Corry