Murphy Back For Kilkenny While Dublin & Galway Name Starting XV

eoin murphy

Eoin Murphy has been named to start for Kilkenny in Saturday’s Leinster SHC round-robin clash with Wexford at Innovate Wexford Park. 

The All-Star goalkeeper suffered a knee injury while in action for his club Glenmore back in April and was not expected to return to inter-county duty this soon. Elsewhere on the Kilkenny team, Pádraig Walsh is named at centre-back for Brian Cody’s side while the influential, TJ Reid, is once again named at left-half forward where he will be flanked by Billy Ryan and AIB Club Hurler of the Year, Adrian Mullen.

Joey Holden, Richie Hogan, Cillian Buckley and Walter Walsh are all held in reserve for Kilkenny.


Mattie Kenny has made two changes to his Dublin side following their defeat of Carlow in their last Leinster SHC round-robin match. Darragh O’Connell comes in at wing-back while Fergal Whitley is named at right-corner forward for their clash with Galway at Parnell Park.

Paul Ryan and Shane Barrett are the players who will make way, however, it is unknown as to whether Dublin will make any late changes after Barrett was cleared to face Galway despite being sent-off in their win over Carlow.


Galway have bamed a strong starting XV to take on Dublin with the influential Gearoid McInerney named at centre-back with Padraic Mannion and Josephy Conney flanking either side, while Jonathan Glynn continues at centre-forward in the absence of talisman, Joe Canning.


Kilkenny XV

Eoin Murphy; Paul Murphy, Huw Lawlor, Tommy Walsh; Conor Fogarty, Pádraig Walsh, Paddy Deegan; Alan Murphy, Richie Leahy; Adrian Mullen, Billy Ryan, TJ Reid; Bill Sheehan, Colin Fennelly, Ger Aylward

Dublin XV

Alan Nolan; Paddy Smyth, Eoghan O’Donnell, Cian Hendricken, Chris Crummey, Seán Moran, Darragh O’Connell; Seán Treacy, Tomás Connolly; Conal Keaney, Danny Sutcliffe, Cian Boland; Fergal Whitley, Ronan Hayes, Eamonn Dillon.

Galway XV

Colm Callanan; Darren Morrissey, Daithí Burke, Aidan Harte; Padraic Mannion, Gearoid McInerney, Joseph Cooney; Johnny Coen, David Burke; Cathal Mannion, Jonathan Glynn, Adrain Tuohy; Conor Whelan, Jason Flynn, Brian Concannon.


Read More About: dublin gaa, eoin murphy, galway gaa, kilkenny gaa