Close sidebar

Diarmuid Connolly Named On Dublin Bench For Tyrone Trip

diarmuid connolly

Diarmuid Connolly has been named among the substitutes for Dublin’s clash with Tyrone on Sunday.

The St. Vincent’s man has not played for the All-Ireland champions since their Allianz League victory over Mayo in 2018 with his last Championship appearance coming in the 2017 All-Ireland final when he was sprung from the bench in the second half to play a key role as Jim Gavin’s side secured the three-in-a-row.

Connolly spent last summer in the United States where he lined out with Donegal Boston and he was due to link up with the same club this summer, however, an issue with Connolly’s visa saw the move fall through at the last minute.

The former All-Star then returned to the Dublin set-up ahead of their Super 8s victory over Roscommon two week’s ago and now he’s been named among the substitutes for Sunday’s dead-rubber clash with the Red Hands.

diarmuid connolly

Jim Gavin has made a host of changes to the side that defeated the Connacht champions in Croke Park the last time out. Rory O’Carroll makes his long-awaited return to the starting fifteen following his return from New Zealand. Davy Byrne is named at full-back while Eoin Murchan and Robert McDaid come in at right and left half-back respectively.

Upfront, Cormac Costello returns to the side at centre-forward where Eric Lowndes named at right half-forward. In the full-forward line, experienced duo, Kevin McManamon and Eoghan O’Gara come into the starting lineup.

Meanwhile, Mickey Harte has made fifteen changes following their win over Cork in Croke Park. All-Star, Padraig Hampsey returns at full-back with Tiarnan McCann also returning to his usual right half-back slot with Kyle Coney named at centre-forward.

Experience leaders, Peter Harte and Mattie Donnelly are both left out of the matchday squad entirely.


Dublin XV

Stephen Cluxton; Rory O’Carroll, Davy Byrne, Philly McMahon; Eoin Murchan, Jonny Cooper, Robert McDaid; Brian Fenton, James McCarthy; Eric Lowndes, Cormac Costello, Brian Howard; Kevin McManamon, Eoghan O’Gara, Con O’Callaghan.

Tyrone XV

Benny Gallen; Ciarán McLaughlin, Pádraig Hampsey, Liam Rafferty; Tiarnan McCann, Aidan McCrory, Michael Cassidy; Ben McDonnell, Declan McClure; Richard Donnelly, Kyle Coney, Conan Grugan; David Mulgrew, Connor McAliskey, Conall McCann.

Read More About: , , , , ,