Campbell and Corbett On Fire As Cork Qualify For Final Four

Cork are into the semi-finals of the Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Football Championships following a 12-point win over Monaghan in Bord na Mona O’Connor Park.

Monaghan nearly got off to the dream start when Liam McDonald was put through on goal in the opening minute and he would have scored only for a superb block by Daniel Peet.

Patrick Campbell then opened the scoring for Cork from a placed kick before Diarmuid Marron swung over a beautiful point with his left foot to level the scores a minute later.

Cork, however, looked threatening upfront when Campbell put through Michael O’Neill who steadied himself and fired over to nudge the Rebel men back into the lead.

Darragh Dempsey opened Monaghan’s scoring account from play in the sixth minute to level the match as the Farney men looked to gain some momentum. Despite their efforts, however, the next score came from the men in red through wing-back, Darragh Cashman.


The teams were level at 0-4 apiece after 15 minutes following points from Dempsey and Monaghan captain, Jason Irwin, sandwiched in between an O’Neill free-kick for Cork.

It was then the turn of Cork captain and key-man, Conor Corbett to get in on the action and kick his first point of the day but his score was cancelled out by the very man chosen to mark him, Monaghan centre-back, Eoin Duffy.

Campbell and O’Neill pointed for Cork in between an excellently taking free by Irwin to leave the bare minimum between the sides with five minutes of the first half remaining.

It then turned into a nightmare for Monaghan as they conceded two goals in under a minute to fall seven behind the Rebel men.

First, it was Michael O’Neill who broke through and buried the ball into the back of the net before Conor Corbett got in on the action firing underneath Joe Kirk and into the goal.

Campbell stretched Cork’s lead to eight but points from Irwin and Dempsey saw Monaghan go in at the break just six behind; 2-8 to 0-8.

The second half started much the same as the first with Monaghan bearing down on goal within seconds only to be blocked down by Daniel Peet again. The resulting 45 dropped short and Cork proceeded to work the ball upfield where midfielder, Kelan Scannell scored their first of the half.

The lead was soon back to eight points when Daniel Linehan sauntered up from full-back to hit a beauty of a score. Monaghan were handed a lifeline, however, five minutes into the second half when a penalty was awarded after Eoghan Nash committed a foot block inside the square.

Liam McDonald stepped up to bury the spot-kick into the net and ignite some life into the Farney County.

Cork were undeterred by the Monaghan goal as Linehan added another score followed by a Campbell point to leave seven between the sides as the game entered the final quarter.

Monaghan were awarded another lifeline when Linehan was penalised for another foot-block inside the penalty area. McDonald stepped up to take it once more and this time tucked it neatly into the bottom left-hand corner.

Darragh Dempsey followed up the penalty with another point for Monaghan to leave just three between the sides as the game entered the final ten minutes. However, three points back-to-back from Ryan O’Donovan, Adam Walsh-Murphy and Campbell put Cork six ahead with five minutes remaining.

Monaghan battled bravely but were dealt a hammer blow when Karl Gallagher was given a straight red card in the final minute of normal time with Daniel Peet was also given his marching orders for his part in the scuffle. Campbell then buried Cork’s third goal to the net to finish off the game and give the Rebel County a 3-19 to 2-10 victory.

Read More About: cork gaa, Electric Ireland, Electric Ireland All-Ireland Minor Championships, monaghan gaa, Monaghan v Cork

Author: Michael Corry

Sports Journalist born in Armagh, based in Dublin. Interested in feature writing and listening to unique, engaging stories. Up for the craic too. Email: Twitter: @MickCorryPA Instagram: @Corry_10 View all posts by Michael Corry