Close sidebar

Cluxton and McCaffrey Drop Out Of Dublin Squad To Face Tyrone

Despite making his return to the Dublin starting XV in their win over Roscommon in two weeks ago, Stephen Cluxton has been left out of the squad to face Tyrone this evening in Round Six of the Allianz Football League.

Evan Comerford returns to take his spot between the goals following an excellent display against Mayo last time out in Croke Park.

Clontarf’s Jack McCaffrey is also missing from their last outing in Dr Hyde Park as Kilmacud Crokes defender, Cian O’Connor comes into the squad at left corner back.

Brian Howard starts at right half-back for the All-Ireland champions in a half-back line that is made up by the experienced, Cian O’Sullivan and John Small.

Brian Fenton and Darren Gavin continue their burgeoning partnership at midfield, while the Dublin forward see a host of stars with Ciaran Kilkenny the marquee name at full forward.

Cormac Costello continues at centre half forward, the Whitehall Colmcilles man has arguably been Dublin’s best player this season and will look to kick on and secure a starting berth in time for the Championship.

allianz leagues dublin

Meanwhile, Mickey Harte has kept faith with the same XV that overcame Cavan in their last outing. Cathal McShane and Richie Donnelly will be tasked with shutting down the Fenton and Gavin partnership at midfield.

Peter Harte scored 1-3 against Cavan and has been retained at full forward for last year’s All-Ireland finalists.

Throw in this evening is ta 7pm and live on Eir Sport.


Dublin team to play Tyrone

1. Evan Comerford (Ballymun Kickhams)

2. Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
3. David Byrne (Naomh Olaf)
4. Cian O’Connor (Kilmacud Crokes)

5. Brian Howard (Raheny)
6. Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
7. John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)

8. Brian Fenton (Raheny)
9. Darren Gavin (Lucan Sarsfields)

10. Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
11. Cormac Costello (Whitehall Colmcilles)
12. Niall Scully (Templeogue Synge Street)

13. Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)
14. Ciaran Kilkenny (Castleknock)
15. Paddy Andrews (St. Brigids)


Tyrone team to play Dublin

1. Niall Morgan (Edendork)

2. Pádraig Hampsey (Coalisland)
3. Ronan McNamee (Aghyaran)
4. Hugh Pat McGeary (Pomeroy)

5. Tiernan McCann (Killyclogher)
6. Frank Burns (Pomeroy)
7. Ben McDonnell (Errigal Ciaran)

8. Cathal McShane (Owen Roe)
9. Richie Donnelly (Trillick)

10. Mattie Donnelly (Trillick)
11. Niall Sludden (Dromore)
12. Conor Meyler (Omagh)

13. Conor McAliskey (Clonoe)
14. Peter Harte (Errigal Ciaran)
15. Kieran McGeary (Pomeroy)


Read More About: , , , , , ,