Home GAA First-Time Winners, Second Replays & Six Halves Of Hurling

First-Time Winners, Second Replays & Six Halves Of Hurling

Nine county senior champions were crowned this weekend in yet another dramatic weekend of club action.

There was a first-time winner in Leinster while up north, a second replay has been organised for the Ulster champions.

Meanwhile, in the small ball, the All-Ireland champions were in action while across the water, one final needed six halves of hurling to decide a winner.

Here is your county final round-up.

county final


Clare SFC final replay: Kilmurry-Ibrickane 0-8 St Josephs’s Miltown-Malbay 0-12 (Cusack Park)

St Joseph’s retained their Clare county title after a tough replay with Kilmurry-Ibrickane that was every bit as tight as last week’s drawn encounter. Level on six occasions, the champions managed to eventually pull away from the former All-Ireland finalists in the dying embers of the match.

Cork SFC final: Duhallow 0-10 Nemo Rangers 2-8 (Pairc Ui Rinn)

Luke Connolly was on fire for Nemo Rangers who secured yet another county title with a four-point win over Duhallow.

Meath SFC final: Ratoath 3-15 Summerhill 2-13 (Pairc Tailteann)

Just seven years after winning a junior county title, Ratoath are senior champions in Meath for the first time in their history following a five-point win over Summerhill.

Eamon Wallace, Conor Rooney and Daithí McGowan all netted first-half goals to set Ratoath up for a famous victory.

Donegal SFC final replay: Gaoth Dobhair 0-14 Naomh Conaill 1-11 (MacCumhaill Park)

Ulster Champions, Gaoth Dobhair will face Naomh Conaill in a second replay after the sides could not be separated once again after extra-time in Ballybofey.

county final

Limerick SFC final: Newcastle West 1-11 Oola 0-8 LIT (Gaelic Grounds)

Newcastle West are Limerick champions for the fourth time in their history and the first time since 2015 following their six-point win over Oola.

Kildare SFC final replay: Moorefield 2-9 Sarsfields 2-15 (St Conleth’s Park)

Sarsfields are Kildare champions for the 25th time after their replay victory prevented Moorefield from completing the three-in-a-row. Nip and tuck for most of the game, it was Moorefield who took a slender two-point lead in at the break. However, Sarsfields struck for their first goal ten minutes from time to swing the tide in their favour before killing the game off with a second four minutes from time.

county final


Kilkenny SHC final: Ballyhale Shamrocks 2-21 James Stephens 1-15 (Nowlan Park)

The All-Ireland champions are once again Kilkenny champions. Henry Shefflin’s outfit bounced back well after conceding an early goal to score two themselves through Brian and Eoin Cody. The win marks the 17th county title for the seven-time All-Ireland winners.

London SHC final: Robert Emmetts 1-25 St Gabriel’s 3-17 (Ruislip)

Robert Emmetts are London hurling champions once again after a thrilling encounter with St. Gabriel’s that lasted over 100 minutes in total as the game needed two periods of extra-time.

Wexford SHC final: St Anne’s 1-13 St Martin’s 1-15 (Innovate Wexford Park)

St Martin’s are Wexford senior hurling champions for the fourth time in their history following a hard-fought two-point win over St Anne’s whose wait for a  first county hurling title since the year 2000 continues.

county final

About Michael Corry

Sports Journalist based in Dublin. Hit me up if you have a unique story to tell. Email: michael@punditarena.com Twitter: @Corry_10 Instagram: @Corry_10