Close sidebar

Tyrone Push Past Donegal To Set Up Semi-Final Date With Monaghan

Donegal 1-14 Tyrone 2-17

Tyrone have put past demons behind them to record their first victory in Ballbofey since 1973 with the result meaning they move on to the All Ireland semi-final to face Monaghan.

Donegal were in the driving seat until the 61st minute when a goal from Harry Loughran levelled the game and allowed Tyrone to firmly take control. The home side trailed by three going into the 10 minutes of additional time and although they went in search of an equalising goal, it was Tyrone who rattled the net through Declan McClure to secure their win.

It had everything you would expect from an All-Ulster encounter; blanket defences, few scores early on and plenty of physicality. After a tight opening half-hour, the sides were level after early scores from Mark Bradley, Tiernan McCann and Michael Murphy. Tyrone were wasteful with a number of efforts but Donegal were unable to garner a lead until Murphy capitalised from a Niall Morgan mistake which saw them lead by three at the break.

They stayed in control of the game in the early parts of the second half but when Mickey Harte introduced a number of key substitutes, the game swung in favour of Tyrone. Lee Brennan and Kieran McGeary were highly influential and introduced urgency into their play. After Loughran’s goal, Tyrone’s stalwarts like Peter Harte helped them remain calm and efficient as they stole the lead and punished a tired Donegal for their unforced errors. Scores from Mattie Donnelly and a free from Niall Morgan put them three ahead and the travelling contingent began to celebrate in the stands. But with Donegal desperate for an equalising goal, it wasn’t until McClure’s goal that the win was guaranteed.

Tyrone: Niall Morgan (0-1, 1f); Michael McKernan, Ronan McNamee (0-1) Frank Burns; Tiernan McCann (0-1), Mattie Donnelly (0-2), Peter Harte (0-1, 1f); Colm Cavanagh (0-1), Pádraig Hampsey (0-2); Conor Meyler, Cathal McShane, Niall Sludden; Connor McAliskey (0-2, 2f), Mark Bradley (0-1), Richard Donnelly.

Subs: Rory Brennan for McKernan (5); Kieran McGeary (0-1) for Burns (38); Lee Brennan (0-4, 1f) for Richard Donnelly (38); Harry Loughran (1-0) for McAliskey (47); Conall McCann for McShane (52); Declan McClure (1-0) for Sludden (67)

Donegal: Shaun Patton; Stephen McMenamin, Neil McGee, Paddy McGrath (0-1); Eoghan Bán Gallagher (0-1), Leo McLoone, Frank McGlynn; Hugh McFadden, Odhrán Mac Niallais (0-2); Michael Langan (0-1), Michael Murphy (1-2, 1f, 1 45′), Ryan McHugh (0-1); Jamie Brennan (0-3), Ciaran Thompson (0-1), Eamonn Doherty.

Subs: Paul Brennan for Thompson (48); Niall O’Donnell (0-1) for Mac Niallais (56); Anthony Thompson for McGlynn (60); Martin McElhinney for Langan (63); Martin O’Reilly for McLoone (67); Mark McHugh for McGrath (61).


Read More About: , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter