Close sidebar

Teams Named For Pivotal Allianz Hurling League Games

Allianz Hurling League

It’s a crucial weekend in Division 1A of the Allianz Hurling League with Kilkenny, Clare, and Tipperary hoping to bounce back from defeat, while in 1B, the lineup of the relegation clash will be decided.

Almost all the counties have named their teams for Sunday’s Allianz League games and this is how they will lineup:

Tipperary v Kilkenny – Semple Stadium, 2pm

Liam Sheedy has made two changes to his side for the repeat of last year’s Allianz League final in Semple Stadium. Alan Flynn and Willie Connors are introduced for Donagh Maher and Barry Heffernan while Niall O’Meara has recovered from the knock that saw him depart the field during last week’s loss to Wexford and retains his spot at corner-forward.

Noel McGrath Tipperary Wexford

Tipperary: Paul Maher; Alan Flynn, James Barry, Ronan Maher; Seamus Kennedy, Padraic Maher, Robert Byrne; Michael Breen, Willie Connors; Patrick Maher, Noel McGrath, John O’Dwyer; Jason Forde, Seamus Callanan (capt), Niall O’Meara.

Meanwhile, Kilkenny have made four changes to the team that were beaten by Limerick last week. Alan Murphy replaces Richie Leahy who drops to the bench. Enda Morrissey sustained a knock in last week’s game in Nowlan Park and is replaced by Jason Cleere while Ger Malone and Liam Blanchfield are promoted to the starting 15 in place of James Maher and Kevin Kelly.

Kilkenny: Eoin Murphy; Paul Murphy, Conor Delaney, Tommy Walsh; Conor Fogarty, Paddy Deegan, Jason Cleere; Padraig Walsh, Alan Murphy; John Donnelly, Walter Walsh, Ger Malone; Billy Ryan, Liam Blanchfield, Martin Keoghan.

Replacements: C. O’Shea, R. Fitzpatrick, M. Carey, M. Cody, R. Leahy, Richie Hogan, J. Maher, P. Lyng, C. Martin, L. Scanlon, N. Brassil.


Clare v Wexford – Cusack Park, 2pm

Clare have made two changes to their side for Sunday’s clash in Ennis against Wexford with captain, Patrick O’Connor named at wing-back in place of Cathal Malone. Donal Tuohy also replaces Keith Hogan in goals. Gary Cooney and Colin Guilfoyle will not feature this weekend as they prepare to line out for Mary Immaculate College in the Fitzgibbon Cup final in WIT tomorrow.

Clare: Donal Tuohy; Rory Hayes, David McInerney, Jack Browne; Patrick O’Connor, Conor Cleary, David Fitzgerald; Shane Golden, Colm Galvin; Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, Diarmuid Ryan; Ian Galvin, John Conlon, Podge Collins.

Replacements: Andrew Fahy, Jason McCarthy, Aidan McCarthy, Aron Shanagher, Cathal Malone, Ryan Taylor, Seadna Morey, David Conroy, Niall Deasy, Michael O’Neill, Oisin O’Brien.


Limerick v Cork – Gaelic Grounds, 2.30pm

Limerick have made eight changes to their side for their home clash against Cork with Doon teenager, Mikey O’Brien set to make his debut at wing-back. Another change in the defence sees captain, Declan Hannon return while Cian Lynch takes his place in midfield. Shane Dowling is the only forward to keep his spot from last week’s win against Kilkenny with Gearoid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey, Seamus Flanagan, Peter Casey and Pat Ryan all introduced with Aaron Gillane also on Fitzgibbon duty with Mary I.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Tom Condon, Sean Finn, Richie English, Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Mikey O’Brien; Cian Lynch, Darragh O’Donovan; Gearoid Hegarty, Shane Dowling, Tom Morrissey; Peter Casey, Seamus Flanagan, Pat Ryan.

Replacements: Barry Hennessy, Conor Boylan, Aaron Costello, Kyle Hayes, Robbie Hanley, Dan Morrissey, Graeme Mulcahy, Barry Murphy, Barry Nash, William O’Meara, Colin Ryan.

Meanwhile, Cork have made only one change to their team that beat Clare last weekend with Patrick Collins replacing Anthony Nash for the daunting trip to the home of the All Ireland champions.

Cork: Patrick Collins; Sean O’Donoghue, Eoin Cadogan, Stephen McDonnell; Christopher Joyce, Tim O’Mahony, Robert Downey; Cormac Murphy, Bill Cooper; Daniel Kearney, Seamus Harnedy, Dan Dooley; Conor Lehane, Aidan Walsh, Patrick Horgan.

Subs: Anthony Nash, Conor Cahalane, Tommy O’Connell, Cormac Beausang, Brian Turnbull, Colm Barry, Jack O’Connor, Sean O’Leary Hayes, William Kearney, Conor O’Callaghan, Alan Cadogan.


Offaly v Galway – O’Connor Park, 1pm

Meanwhile Galway have made eight changes for their visit to Bord Na Mona O’Connor Park to take on Offaly.

Galway: James Skehill; Sean Linnan, Paul Killeen, Darren Morrissey; John Hanbury, Gearoid McInerney, Aidan Harte; Cathal Mannion, Sean Kilduff; Niall Burke, Joe Canning, Tadhg Haran, Conor Whelan, Jason Flynn, Davy Glennon.



Carlow v Laois – Netwatch Cullen Park, 2pm

Laois’ team for their crucial clash with Carlow remains unchanged. The loser of this game will face Offaly in the Allianz Hurling League Division 1B relegation play-off.

Laois: Enda Rowland; Joe Phelan, Matthew Whelan, Donnacha Hartnett; Jack Kelly, Ryan Mullaney, Jake Cranny; John Lennon, Sean Downey; Aaron Dunphy, Eanna Lyons, Paddy Purcell; Mark Kavanagh, Willie Dunphy, Stephen Maher.


Dublin v Waterford – Parnell Park, 2pm

Waterford: Billy Nolan; Shane McNulty, Conor Prunty, Noel Connors; Callum Lyons, Austin Gleeson,  Kevin Moran; Jamie Barron, Mark O’Brien; DJ Foran, Stephen Roche, Jack Prendergast; Thomas Ryan, Stephen Bennett, Shane Bennett.

Read More About: , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter