Close sidebar

All Team News Ahead Of Key Clashes In Hurling Championship

Hurling championship

After an intriguing opening round, the Munster and Leinster hurling championships continue this weekend with Limerick and Wexford getting their first outings.

We have all your team news ahead of the weekend’s games across the provinces.



Joe McDonagh Cup – Laois v Antrim, O’Moore Park, 3pm

Laois: Enda Rowland; Donnacha Hartnett, Matthew Whelan, Joe Phelan; Padraig Delaney, Ryan Mullaney, Lee Cleere; John Lennon, Jack Kelly; Cha Dwyer, Willie Dunphy, Paddy Purcell; Mark Kavanagh, Eanna Lyons, Ross King.

Ross King Laois

Antrim: Ryan Elliott; Stephen Rooney, John Dillon, Phelim Duffin; Paddy Burke, Conor Boyd, Matthew Donnelly; Neil McManus, Nicky McKeague; James McNaughton, Ryan McCambridge, Keelan Molloy; Ciaran Clarke, Conor McCann, Eoin O’Neill.


Joe McDonagh Cup – Westmeath v Offaly, TEG Cusack Park, 3pm

Westmeath: Conor Lynch; Darragh Egerton, Tommy Doyle, Gary Greville; Aaron Craig, Aonghus Clarke, Paul Greville; Shane Clavin, Cormac Boyle; Joey Boyle, Killian Doyle, Robbie Greville; Niall Mitchell, Derek McNicholas, Ciaran Doyle.

Offaly: Eoghan Cahill; David O’Toole Greene, Dermot Shortt, Ben Conneely; Colm Gath, Pat Camon, Niall Houlihan; Kevin Dunne, Mark Egan; Sean Dolan, Shane Dooley, Colin Egan; Conor Mahon, Joe Bergin, Oisin Kelly.



Leinster SHC – Carlow v Kilkenny, Netwatch Cullen Park, 3pm

Brian Cody has made two changes to the Kilkenny side who beat Dublin in their Leinster opener last week.

Richie Leahy comes in at midfield in place of  Enda Morrissey, who drops to the bench, while Bill Sheehan is named at corner-forward in place of Billy Ryan.

Meanwhile, Carlow have named an unchanged side from the team that lost out to Galway in Pearse Stadium last weekend on a scoreline of 1-24 to 1-18.

Carlow: Brian Tracey; Kevin McDonald, Paul Doyle, Michael Doyle; Eoin Nolan, David English, Richard Coady; Jack Kavanagh, Sean Whelan; John M Nolan, Martin Kavanagh, Edward Byrne; James Doyle, Seamus Murphy, Chris Nolan.

Kilkenny: Darren Brennan; Paul Murphy, Huw Lawlor, Tommy Walsh; Conor Fogarty, Padraig Walsh, Paddy Deegan; Alan Murphy, Richie Leahy; Adrian Mullen, Walter Walsh, TJ Reid; Bill Sheehan, Colin Fennelly, Ger Aylward.


Leinster SHC – Dublin v Wexford, Parnell Park, 3pm

Davy Fitzgerald has named a very strong team for Wexford’s championship opener against Dublin on Sunday in Parnell Park.

The team includes two changes from the side who were beaten by Galway in the Allianz League quarter-final in March with Liam Og McGovern and Rory O’Connor introduced for Paul Morris and Cathal Dunbar.

Meanwhile, Mattie Kenny has kept faith with the same 15 that started last week’s loss to Kilkenny in Nowlan Park.

Wexford: Mark Fanning; Damien Reck, Liam Ryan, Shaun Murphy; Paudie Foley, Matthew O’Hanlon, Simon Donohue; Kevin Foley, Diarmuid O’Keeffe; Jack O’Connor, Liam Og McGovern, Aidan Nolan; Conor McDonald, Lee Chin, Rory O’Connor.

Dublin: Alan Nolan; Paddy Smyth, Eoghan O’Donnell, Tomas Connolly; Chris Crummey, Sean Moran, Shane Barrett; Sean Treacy, Darragh O’Connell; David Treacy, Danny Sutcliffe, Fergal Whitely; Paul Ryan, Liam Rushe, Eamon Dillon.


Munster SHC – Tipperary v Waterford, Semple Stadium, 2pm (RTE)

Liam Sheedy has made one change to the Tipperary team who beat Cork last week with Alan Flynn named in place of Sean O’Brien.

Flynn is named in the half-back line alongside Brendan and Padraic Maher while Ronan Maher appears at corner-back. There are positional changes up front with Seamus Callanan returning to full-forward with Jason Forde dropping to the half-forward line.

Meanwhile, Waterford have made four changes to the side who lost to Clare in the opening weekend. Calum Lyons is named at corner-back while Thomas Ryan, Jack Prendergast and Patrick Curran are all introduced into the forward unit in place of Mikey Kearney, Shane Bennett and Peter Hogan.

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Ronan Maher; Brendan Maher, Padraic Maher, Alan Flynn; Noel McGrath, Michael Breen; Jason Forde, Patrick Maher, Niall O’Meara; John O’Dwyer, Seamus Callanan, John McGrath.

Waterford: Stephen O’Keeffe; Callum Lyons, Conor Prunty, Noel Connors; Philip Mahony, Tadhg De Burca, Kevin Moran; Jamie Barron, Conor Gleeson; Thomas Ryan, Austin Gleeson, Pauric Mahony; Jack Prendergast, Patrick Curran, Stephen Bennett.


Munster SHC – Limerick v Cork, Gaelic Grounds, 4pm (RTE)

Limerick have named 14 of their All Ireland final starters in their team for their Munster Championship opener against Cork on Sunday.

Na Piarsaigh’s Peter Casey is named in the full-forward line in place of Seamus Flanagan in the only change to the side from August 19.

Meanwhile, Aidan Walsh is one of four changes to the Cork team who lost to Tipperary in Pairc Ui Chaoimh last weekend. He is named at corner-forward in place of Shane Kingston while Robert Downey, Mark Ellis and Bill Cooper are also brought into the starting line-up.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey; Cian Lynch, Darragh O’Donovan; Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Peter Casey, Aaron Gillane, Graeme Mulcahy.

Cork: Anthony Nash; Sean O’Donoghue, Eoin Cadogan, Niall O’Leary; Robert Downey, Mark Elllis, Mark Coleman; Bill Cooper, Darragh Fitzgibbon; Daniel Kearney, Seamus Harnedy, Luke Meade; Conor Lehane, Patrick Horgan, Aidan Walsh.

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at or on Twitter

This website uses cookies in order to offer you the most relevant information. Please accept cookies for optimal performance.