Close sidebar

Latest Team News Ahead Of Decisive Weekend In Hurling Championship


We are over the halfway point in the Munster and Leinster hurling round robin series’ and all places in the All Ireland qualifiers are still up for grabs. 

As well as that, Offaly and Antrim face into a pivotal clash in the Joe McDonagh Cup.

The counties have named their sides for the weekend’s games and you can find the latest team news below.



Joe McDonagh Cup – Offaly v Antrim, O’Connor Park, 3pm

Interim manager Joachim Kelly has made six changes to the Offaly side who lost heavily to Westmeath in the last round including four squad introductions.

Offaly need a win in Bord na Mona O’Connor Park if they are to avoid relegation to the Christy Ring Cup.

Offaly: Eoghan Cahill; Ben Conneely, Dermot Shortt, Pat Camon (captain); Cillian Kiely, Shane Kinsella, Mark Egan; Aidan Treacy, Paddy Murphy; Colin Egan, Joe Bergin, Peter Geraghty; Shane Dooley, Oisin Kelly, Kevin Connolly.



Leinster Senior Hurling Championship – Carlow v Dublin, Netwatch Cullen Park, 3pm

Colm Bonnar has remained faithful to the starting team who took to the field against Kilkenny two weeks ago. Carlow currently sit bottom of the Leinster table but will be hopeful of causing an upset at home to Dublin who lie just one point ahead of them.

Carlow: Brian Tracey; Kevin McDonald, Paul Doyle, Michael Doyle; Eoin Nolan, David English, Richard Coady; Jack Kavanagh, Sean Whelan; John M Nolan, Martin Kavanagh, Edward Byrne; James Doyle, Seamus Murphy, Chris Nolan.


Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Waterford v Limerick, Walsh Park, 2pm (RTE)

This is a must win game for Waterford if they are to have any chance of avoiding an early championship exit for the second year running.

Despite the speculation, Padraic Fanning has opted not to start Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh but has made a number of changes.

Daragh Fives replaces the injured Philip Mahony in the half-back line while Jack Prendergast moves to midfield in place of Conor Gleeson while Maurice Shanahan and Mikey Kearney are named among the forwards with Patrick Curran missing out.

John Kiely has also made changes to his Limerick side following their opening defeat to Cork two weeks ago.

Paddy O’Loughlin will make his championship debut in the half-back line alongside Declan Hannon and Dan Morrissey with Diarmuid Byrnes making way. The other change sees William O’Donoghue introduced at midfield in place of Darragh O’Donovan.

Waterford: Stephen O’Keeffe; Calum Lyons, Conor Prunty, Noel Connors; Daragh Fives, Tadhg de Burca, Kevin Moran; Jamie Barron, Jack Prendergast; Pauric Mahony, Austin Gleeson, Maurice Shanahan; Mikey Kearney, Stephen Bennett, Thomas Ryan.

Limerick: Nicky Quaid; Sean Finn, Mike Casey, Richie English; Dan Morrissey, Declan Hannon, Paddy O’Loughlin; Cian Lynch, William O’Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Graeme Mulcahy, Peter Casey.


Munster Senior Hurling Championship – Clare v Tipperary, Cusack Park, 4pm (RTE)

Perhaps the most exciting hurling fixture of the weekend sees old rivals Clare and Tipperary face off in Ennis on Sunday.

Liam Sheedy’s side are the most in-form team presently with two wins under their belt. Meanwhile, Clare have not had an outing since their narrow escape against Waterford in Walsh Park in the opening round.

The Banner management have named an unchanged side from that one-point win in Waterford.

Tipperary have made only one change to the side that comprehensively overcame the Deise in Semple Stadium in the last round with Dan McCormack making way for the now-fit Niall O’Meara.

Seamus Callanan is once again named at full-forward with Jason Forde placed at wing-forward alongside sharpshooter John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer at centre-forward.

Clare: Donal Tuohy; Patrick O’Connor, David McInerney, Seadna Morey; Cathal Malone, Jack Browne, David Fitzgerald; Shane Golden, Colm Galvin; Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, Diarmuid Ryan; Shane O’Donnell, John Conlon, Podge Collins.

Tipperary: Brian Hogan; Cathal Barrett, James Barry, Ronan Maher; Brendan Maher, Padraic Maher, Alan Flynn; Noel McGrath, Michael Breen; Jason Forde, John O’Dwyer, Patrick Maher; John McGrath, Seamus Callanan, Niall O’Meara.

Read More About: , , , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter