Home GAA Watch: Trailer For RTE Documentary On Offaly’s Famous 1982 Win

Watch: Trailer For RTE Documentary On Offaly’s Famous 1982 Win

All Ireland Football Final 19/9/1982 Kerry vs Offaly Offaly players (no.6) Sean Lowry and Mick Lowry lift the Sam Maguire Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Billy Stickland

RTE are set to air, ‘Players Of The Faithful’, a documentary on how Offaly stopped Kerry’s ‘drive for five’ in 1982, on December 28th at 9.30pm

All eyes will be on Dublin next year as they look to chase the elusive All Ireland ‘five-in-a-row’ dream. Many teams have come close in the past, including Kilkenny in 2010, but the team that began the ‘drive for five’ was Kerry in the late 1970s/early 1980s.

In 1978, the great Kerry team, managed by Mick O’Dwyer, dismantled Dublin in the All Ireland final on a scoreline of 5-11 to 0-9. They went onto win the next three finals, again beating Dublin, Roscommon and Offaly.

Many assumed they would push on to win the five-in-a-row the next year, however, they were stopped in their tracks by Offaly.

A documentary, named ‘Players Of The Faithful’, recounting that famous 1-15 to 0-17 win has been produced by Loosehorse, who were the brains behind the ‘Micko’ documentary earlier this year and the Blues Sisters, focusing on Dublin’s ladies footballers.

The story of the victory is recounted by the victorious players including, brothers Matt and Richie Connor, the man who scored the goal, Seamus Darby, and Martin Furlong and Gerry Carroll in New York.

The programme airs on Friday, December 28, on RTE One at 9.30pm.

Watch the trailer for the documentary below.

  • I agree to Heineken Rugby Club House Rules and Privacy Policy. Over 18's only.

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter