Home GAA Quickfire Conclusions As Limerick Stroll To Munster Title

Quickfire Conclusions As Limerick Stroll To Munster Title

Munster GAA Senior Hurling Championship Final, LIT Gaelic Grounds, Limerick 30/6/2019 Tipperary vs Limerick Limerick's Kyle Hayes celebrates scoring a goal Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy

Limerick 2-26 Tipperary 2-14

All Ireland champions, Allianz League champions and now Munster champions, can be there any stopping this Limerick team from this point onwards?

John Kiely’s men lifted the Munster Cup for the first time since 2013 following a second-half rout against Tipperary.

Read our quickfire conclusions on the Munster final below.


Brendan Maher on Aaron Gillane: With Cathal Barrett injured, Brendan Maher was given the job of marking Aaron Gillane and he did so superbly, choosing to stand in front of his man, cutting out the danger before it arrived.

Battle in the middle third: It says a lot when Limerick look to bypass the middle of the field choosing to deliver to the corners instead but that tells how dominant Tipperary were with Jason Forde, Noel McGrath, Michael Breen and Padraic Maher crowding the middle third, aided by Dan McCormack.

Limerick won’t win an All Ireland without Gearóid Hegarty and Declan Hannon: The Limerick duo were left out of John Kiely’s team last week, Hannon with an injury, but their performance today proved how vital they are to the Treaty. Hannon’s distribution was incredible while Hegarty was as industrious as ever as he also added three points to his name.

Seamus Callanan early contender for HOTY? The Tipperary captain had a terrific first half, showing glimpses of his 2016 self with a typically outrageous solo effort for his goal. Given his contribution to Tipperary’s cause throughout Munster, his name must be in the mix for Hurler of the Year.

Brian Hogan en route to first All-Star: In his second full year in the Tipperary goal, Brian Hogan has been immense. His puck outs have been a key strategy in the opening encounters in Munster and today, he made three fantastic saves to keep Tipperary in the game at vital times.

Paud O’Dwyer: John Kiely was seen remonstrating with referee Paud O’Dwyer on a number of occasions from the sideline and rightly so. The Carlow man made a number of questionable decisions, not least the decision to book ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer for a high tackle yet no free was given.

Tipperary fail to deliver in the second half: By the time Tom Morrissey scored a tremendous point in the 52nd minute, the game was over as a contest. Apart from John McGrath’s goal, they failed to deliver in the second period. Limerick easily read their play and their forwards were no longer winning key ball.

No comparison on substitutes bench: Limerick had dangerous quality on their bench with Shane Dowling, Seamus Flanagan, Darragh O’Donovan and Barry Nash all introduced. Tipp, meanwhile, had to rely on their inexperienced U21 players from the bench, the likes of Ger Browne, Robert Byrne and Jerome Cahill. On a positive for the Premier County, Niall O’Meara played 35 minutes on his return following injury.

Limerick are All Ireland champions for a reason: Limerick outscored Tipp by an astonishing 1-15 – 1-5 in the second half. It was utter class from Kiely’s men as their defence and half-forward line roared into the game while Peter Casey was in sublime form in the forward line. Who will stop them?

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter