Home GAA Poll: Who Will Be Crowned Hurler Of The Year For 2019?

Poll: Who Will Be Crowned Hurler Of The Year For 2019?

While it might not have reached the heights of 2018, we have been treated to another summer of surprise results, outstanding performances and tactics galore in the Senior Hurling Championship.

And yet, at the end of it all, we have yet another All Ireland deciding clash between Tipperary and Kilkenny to look forward to in two week’s time.

With only one game left in this year’s hurling championship, it’s time to look at who will take home the individual accolades, beginning with the biggest of them all, the Hurler of the Year award, and a number of players have put themselves forward for contention.


TJ Reid

The fact that TJ Reid didn’t score from play during three games in this year’s championship and still is one of the front runners for Hurler of the Year tells you everything you need to know about his outstanding work from open play for Kilkenny. The Ballyhale Shamrocks man has registered 5-72 throughout the championship and has played a captain’s role in the forward line, linking up brilliantly with his club teammates, Colin Fennelly and Adrian Mullen.

Leinster GAA Senior Hurling Championship Final, Croke Park, Dublin 3/7/2016 Kilkenny vs Galway Kilkenny's TJ Reid Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Morgan Treacy


Seamus Callanan

Seven goals in seven games, need we say more? Seamus Callanan has been in phenomenal form for Tipperary this summer whether he has been posted at full-forward or playing a more roaming role from centre-forward. The captain has also added a defensive facet to his game while his use of space has made him almost unmarkable at times. He was denied the Hurler of the Year accolade three years ago but will 2019 be his year?


Patrick Horgan

How Patrick Horgan scored 3-10 against Kilkenny and still ended up on the losing side remains a mystery. Whether from placed balls or open play, Horgan was a constant for Cork throughout the summer and will go down as one of the greatest ever players the county has produced. His work rate was incredible this summer, linking up well with the likes of Seamus Harnedy and Alan Cadogan. If the adjudicators look beyond the All Ireland semi-finals, his name will definitely be in contention for Hurler of the Year.

Patrick Horgan Martin Reilly


Lee Chin

Lee Chin is also a favourite to receive individual accolades at the end of the summer with his name being thrown into the pool for Hurler of the Year following his brilliant performance against Tipperary in the All Ireland semi-final. It was a memorable year for Wexford after they won their first Leinster title in 23 years with victory over Kilkenny and Chin was at the heart of it. Their top scorer in every game, Chin registered 1-51 throughout the championship.


Vote for your winner of the Hurler of the Year award in our poll below.

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter