Home GAA Seán O’Shea & Shane Conway Voted Electric Ireland Players Of The Year

Seán O’Shea & Shane Conway Voted Electric Ireland Players Of The Year

UCC students, Seán O’Shea and Shane Conway have been announced as the Electric Ireland Higher Education Footballer and Hurler of the Year respectively. 

It was a stellar year for the college as they claimed both the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cup with respective victories over St Mary’s and Mary Immaculate College.

UCC had not won the Sigerson Cup since 2014 and the achievement of their footballers was recognised by having six players named on the Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019 Football Team. Finalists, St Mary’s are represented by Mark Reid, Jarlath Óg Burns, Stephen McConville and Shane McGuigan.

Cillian O’Shea and Evan O’Carroll are the only representatives from 2018 champions, UCD, while NUIG have two players included. Michael Langan from LYIT completes the team.

Meanwhile, Shane Conway is one of eight UCC players chosen on the Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019 Hurling Team with Mark Kehoe, Chris O’Leary and Paddy O’Loughlin just some of the other names included.

Mary I are represented by Eoghan Cahill, Thomas Grimes and Aaron Gillane while Chris Crummey and James Bergin are the DCU players included. NUIG and GMIT both have one representative.

GAA President, John Horan, was among the first to congratulate the recipients.

Over the last number of years it has become a real statement of intent from young players involved at third level football and hurling championships that the form they show here is a sign of things to come at inter-county level.

“Indeed, many of those chosen here have already embarked on senior inter-county careers and are making headlines. I’ve no doubt more of these names will follow them in the years to come.

“The Higher Education competitions are of the highest quality and these awards carry a major standing as a result.”

Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019 Football: 

1. Mark Reid (St Mary’s)

2. Brian O’Beaglaoích (UCC)

3. Kevin McDonnell (NUIG)

4. Graham O’Sullivan (UCC)

5. Cian Kiely (UCC)

6. Daniel O’Brien (UCC)

7. Cillian O’Shea (UCD)

8. Jarlath Óg Burns (St Mary’s)

9. Padraig Lucey (UCC)

10. Michael Langan (LYIT)

11. Seán O’Shea (UCC)

12. Peter Cooke (NUIG)

13. Stephen McConville (St Mary’s)

14. Evan O’Carroll (UCD)

15. Shane McGuigan (St Mary’s)


Electric Ireland HE GAA Rising Stars 2019 Hurling: 

1. Eoghan Cahill (Mary Immaculate)

2. Niall O’Leary (UCC)

3. Eddie Gunning (UCC)

4. Thomas Grimes (Mary Immaculate)

5. Chris O’Leary (UCC)

6. Paddy O’Loughlin (UCC)

7. Chris Crummey (DCU)

8. Conor Browne (UCC)

9. Jarlath Mannion (GMIT)

10. Shane Kingston (UCC)

11. Aaron Gillane (Mary Immaculate)

12. James Bergin (DCU)

13. Evan Niland (NUIG)

14. Shane Conway (UCC)

15. Mark Kehoe (UCC)


About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. She is a former reporter with Sporting Limerick and is a huge fan of the GAA. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter