Close sidebar

Mayo Make Four Changes For Crunch Clash With Armagh


James Horan has made four changes to his Mayo side for their Round 3 qualifier clash with Armagh in Elverys MacHale Park, Castlebar on Saturday. 

Mayo secured their place in the next round of the qualifiers with a  five-point win over Down in Newry last weekend, however, they were dealt a major blow during the week with the news that captain Diarmuid O’Connor will miss the remainder of the championship with a fractured wrist.

His brother, Cillian, is close to a return from injury but has missed out on a place in Saturday’s starting XV.

Instead, Horan has introduced Michael Plunkett, Donal Vaughan, Fergal Boland, and Mikey Murray, who will be making his full championship debut. Aside from O’Connor, the players to miss out are Colm Boyle, Jason Doherty, and Darren Coen.

Paddy Durcan will captain the side from the half-back line.

A loss to Armagh would see Mayo exit the championship in Round 3 of the qualifiers for the second year running following their two-point defeat to Kildare in Newbridge in 2018.

Throw-in at MacHale Park on Saturday is 7pm.

Mayo: David Clarke; Chris Barrett, Brendan Harrison, Keith Higgins; Lee Keegan, Michael Plunkett, Patrick Durcan; Donal Vaughan, Aidan O’Shea; Fionn McDonagh, Conor Loftus, Mikey Murray; Kevin McLoughlin, Andy Moran, Fergal Boland.

Read More About: , , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter