Home GAA Limerick Name 11 All Ireland Starters In Team For League Opener

Limerick Name 11 All Ireland Starters In Team For League Opener

Limerick manager, John Kiely, has made an obvious statement of intent ahead of their Division 1A opener by including 11 All Ireland final starters in his team to face Wexford.

Hurler of the Year, Cian Lynch, is named in the starting XV, alongside fellow All-Star recipients, Dan Morrissey, Sean Finn, Richie English, and Declan Hannon, who captains the side.

Following UL’s exit from the Fitzgibbon Cup during the week, Tom Morrissey also returns to inter-county duty alongside Gearoid Hegarty and David Dempsey from Na Piarsaigh in the half-forward line.

In fact, six of the starting XV were involved in third-level colleges action this week, and for five of them, this will be their third game in seven days.

Bord Gais Energy Munster Under 21 Hurling Championship Final, Cusack Park, Ennis, Co. Clare 30/7/2015.Clare vs Limerick.Clare's of Limerick.Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

After playing a starring role from the bench last season, Peter Casey is given a chance at corner-forward.

This is Limerick’s first season in Division 1A of the Allianz League since 2010 and goalkeeper, Nickie Quaid is the only surviving member from that team.

Throw-in at Innovate Wexford Park on Sunday at 2pm. TG4 will have deferred coverage of all the action.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid (Effin); Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Sean Finn (Bruff), Richie English (Doon); Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Declan Hannon (Adare), Dan Morrissey (Ahane); Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen); Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh); Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh).

Replacements: Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Aaron Costello (Kilmallock), Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Kevin Downes (Na Piarsaigh), Robbie Hanley (Kilmallock), Barry Murphy (Doon), Michael O’Brien (Doon), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Paddy O’Loughlin (Kilmallock), Pat Ryan (Doon).

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter