Home GAA Limerick Recall All Ireland Starters For Opening Clash Against Tipp

Limerick Recall All Ireland Starters For Opening Clash Against Tipp

Limerick manager, John Kiely, has named eight players that started the All Ireland final in August in his team to play Tipperary in their Co Op Superstores Munster Senior Hurling League opener in the Gaelic Grounds tonight. 

Captain, Declan Hannon as well as Hurler of the Year, Cian Lynch, have been included, alongside Sean Finn, Graeme Mulcahy, Richie English, Gearoid Hegarty, Aaron Gillane and Nickie Quaid.

Meanwhile Liam Sheedy has also named a strong, but experimental, side for the clash. The Portroe man has included the likes of Seamus Callanan, Jason Forde, Ronan Maher and Michael Breen in his first team since being appointed as the Tipperary manager earlier this year, while Patrick ‘Bonner’ Maher, Cathal Barrett and Padraic Maher are among the replacements.

Throw-in for the game is 7.30pm.

team of the year


1. Nicky Quaid – Effin
2. William O’Meara – Askeaton
3. Sean Finn – Bruff
4. Richie English – Doon
5. Paddy O’Loughlin – Kilmallock
6. Declan Hannon – Adare
7. Andrew La Touche Cosgrave – Monaleen
8. Cian Lynch – Patrickswell
9. Colin Ryan – Pallasgreen
10. Gearoid Hegarty – St Patricks
11. Barry O’Connell – Kildimo/Pallaskenry
12. David Reidy – Dromin-Athlacca
13. Aaron Gillane – Patrickswell
14. Graeme Mulcahy – Kilmallock
15. Pat Ryan – Doon



1. Brian Hogan – Lorrha-Dorrha
2. Seán O’Brien – Newport
3. James Barry – Upperchurch-Drombane
4. Donagh Maher – Burgess
5. Barry Heffernan – Nenagh Éire Óg
6. Séamus Kennedy – St. Mary’s Clonmel
7. Tom Fox – Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill
8. Michael Breen – Ballina
9. Willie Connors – Kiladangan
10. Colin English – Fr. Sheehy’s
11. Ronan Maher – Thurles Sarsfields
12. Dan McCormack – Borris-Ileigh
13. Jason Forde – Silvermines
14. Seamus Callanan – Drom-Inch
15. Mark Kehoe – Kilsheelan-Kilcash

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter