Close sidebar

Kildare Defy Expectation To Reach Super 8s With Victory Over Fermanagh

Kildare 3-20

Fermanagh 0-18

Kildare’s clinical finishing was the key tonight as they reached the Super 8 stages of the All Ireland championship with a comprehensive victory over Fermanagh tonight.

The beaten Ulster champions were no match for Cian O’Neill’s side who had a spring in their step from the off, Daniel Flynn scoring a wonderful goal following points from Paul and Keith Cribben.

Seamus Quigley tried to keep the Ulstermen in touch but his efforts were soon cancelled out by Flynn and Kevin Feely.

Kildare enjoyed the majority of the possession around midfield and played with ease as Fermanagh failed to push up on them. Scoring opportunities were raining down and Paddy Brophy got his name on the scoresheet before Daniel Flynn grabbed another to leave the scoreline 1-13 to 0-5 at half-time.

Not long after the whistle, Neil Flynn got a touch to a well worked team move to register Kildare’s second goal as Fermanagh’s defence were torn apart.

To their credit, Fermanagh fought back led by the inspirational Quigley who scored some fine points. But this was Kildare’s day as Ryan Jones and Brophy eased over further points.

With seconds left in additional time, Chris Healy beautifully finished off a team move to cap off the Kildare team, as the fairytale story of the summer continues for the lily whites.


Fermanagh: Patrick Cadden; Kane Connor, Che Cullen, Michael Jones; Barry Mulrone, James McMahon (0-1), Lee Cullen; Eoin Donnelly, Ryan Jones (0-2); Paul McCusker, Declan McCusker (0-1), Aidan Breen; Daniel Teague , Connall Jones, Seamus Quigley (0-8, 6f).

Ryan Lyons (0-1) for Conall Joes (ht), Paul McCusker for Clarke (43) Kane Connor for Teague (24) Tomas Corrigan (0-2) for Breen (32) Seán Quigley (0-3) for Ruairi Corrigan (46)

Kildare: Mark Donnellan; Peter Kelly (0-1), David Hyland, Mick O’Grady; Johnny Byrne, Eoin Doyle, Kevin Flynn (0-2); Kevin Feely (0-1), Tommy Moolick (0-1); Fergal Conway (0-1), Paul Cribbin (0-1), Keith Cribbin (0-1); Neil Flynn (1-5, 3f), Daniel Flynn (1-4, 2f), Paddy Brophy (0-1).

Substitutions: Fionn Dowling for Moolick (43) Chris Healy (1-2) for Feely (46) Niall Kelly for P Cribbin (49) David Slattery for K Cribbin (52) Eamonn Callaghan for D Flynn (60) Mark Hyland for N Flynn (62)

Read More About: , , , , , , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at or on Twitter