Close sidebar

Kerry Complete Illustrious Five-In-A-Row With Stunning Victory Over Galway

Kerry 0-21 Galway 1-14

Kerry have claimed their fifth All Ireland title in a row with a superb win over Galway in the minor final in Croke Park this afternoon. Galway raced into a seven-point lead with an opening period of dominance but Kerry’s clinical finishing saw them over the line.  

The Kingdom enjoyed the better start to this game as they raced into a 0-4 to 0-1 lead within the first 10 minutes. Paul O’Shea and Killian Falvey were particularly lively but their lead did not last long once Galway settled into this game.

The Tribesmen were flawless in midfield and with the superb Conor Raftery and Liam Judge commandeering possession, the scores soon began to flow with Ryan Monahan and Eoghan Tinney the providers.

Frustrated at their lack of possession, Kerry soon began to lack discipline with Matthew Cooley taking full advantage on the scoreboard. As the Kingdom entered their 15th minute without a score, matters only got worse for them. Tinney made a bracing run at goal before passing off to Daniel Cox whose shot was blocked, only for Tony Gill to bury the rebound.

It was never going to be easy to dethrone the champions and as expected, Kerry battled back, spearheaded by the wonderful, Paul Walsh. He scored a stunning point to reduce the deficit before Dan McCarthy and the influential, Paul O’Shea followed suit.

It was all Kerry in the opening period of the second half. Michael Lenihan and Dylan Geaney came roaring into the game as Darragh Rahilly exerted his dominance in the middle of the field. Cooley did try to settle his side down once again with a free but a determined Kerry fired back straight away with a fine score from Geaney.

There were great cheers from the Kerry supporters as Rahilly levelled the game. Tensions between the sides increased as they traded scored. Kerry introduced Ruaidhri O’Beaglaoich who made an immediate impact, scoring a wonderful point from play. Galway’s substitute, Tomo Culhane played his part by levelling the game as did their defence who prevented Kerry from getting a shot at goal.

As the clock ticked towards the 60th minute, Walsh put the Kingdom one point ahead before Falvey and O’Beaglaoich added further points. Monahan reduced the gap for Galway through a free but substitute, Jack O’Connor soon cancelled out that score. With seconds remaining, man-of-the-match, Favley coolly knocked over his fourth score from play before falling to the ground as the referee blew the whistle, signalling Kerry’s win.

Kerry: Marc Kelliher, Conor Flannery, Owen Fitzgerald, David Mangan, Colm Moriarty, Dan McCarthy (0-1), Dan Murphy, Darragh Rahilly (0-3), Darragh Lyne, Paul Walsh (0-4), Paul O’Shea (0-2, 2f), Killian Falvey (0-4), Dylan Geaney (0-2), Patrick D’Arcy, Michael Lenihan (0-1)

Substitutions: Ruaidhri O’Beaglaoich (0-3) for D’Arcy (41) Kieran O’Donoghue for Mangan (53) Jack O’Connor (0-1, 1f) for Walsh (63)

Galway: Donie Halloran, Ethan Walsh, Seán Black, Cian Deane, Ryan Monahan (0-3, 2f), Tony Gill (1-0), Cathal Sweeney, Paul Kelly (0-1), Conor Raftery (0-2), Liam Judge (0-1), Aidan Halloran, Seán Horkan, Eoghan Tinney (0-1), Daniel Cox, Matthew Cooley (0-4, 3f)

Substitutions: Tomo Culhane (0-1) for Cox (16) Oisin McCormack for Horkan (38) Oisin Gormally for Halloran (47) Conor Halbard for Sweeney (51) Cian Hernon for Judge (57) Eanna McCormack for Cooley (64)

Read More About: , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at or on Twitter