Close sidebar

Tony Kelly To Miss Kilkenny Clash As Ban Upheld

Tony Kelly

Share and Enjoy !

Clare captain, Tony Kelly, is set to miss Sunday’s Allianz Hurling League clash with Kilkenny following his sending off during their loss to Tipperary last weekend. 

The Ballyea man was shown a red card by the referee, Colm Lyons of Cork, when he collided with Padraic Maher early in the second half.

The decision was highly criticized by fans and pundits alike after the game while Tipperary manager, Liam Sheedy, described the collision as “absolutely accidental.”

Earlier this week, Clare requested a meeting with the Central Hearings Committee to contest the card, however, the CHC subsequently decided to uphold the one-match suspension.

Kelly will miss Sunday’s clash with the League champions in Ennis, however, he will be available for their game against Cork on February 16 in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.


Meanwhile, Limerick have made four changes to their side for their Allianz League clash with Tipperary tomorrow night.

Seamus Flanagan misses out due to suspension following his red card against Wexford last weekend. In his place comes Na Piarsaigh’s Kevin Downes who has featured for the Treaty men since 2016. Graeme Mulcahy is also set for his first competitive start of the year alongside Downes, with the Kilmallock man replacing Peter Casey who moves to the bench.

Having impressed off the bench against Wexford, Darragh O’Donovan returns to the starting XV in midfield while Hurler of the Year, Cian Lynch, drops to the bench.

Young Hurler of the Year, Kyle Hayes, is also named among the replacements following his return from injury.

The final change sees Conor Boylan named in the half-forward line with the Na Piarsaigh man set to make his Allianz League debut.

Throw-in tomorrow evening in the Gaelic Grounds is 7pm.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Tom Condon, Sean Finn, Richie English; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Dan Morrissey; Darragh O’Donovan, Colin Ryan; Gearoid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey, Conor Boylan; Aaron Gillane, Kevin Downes, Graeme Mulcahy.

Replacements: Barry Hennessy, Peter Casey, Aaron Costello, David Dempsey, Robbie Hanley, Kyle Hayes, Cian Lynch, Barry Murphy, Michael O’Brien, Paddy O’Loughlin, Pat Ryan.

Share and Enjoy !

Read More About: , , , , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at or on Twitter