Close sidebar

Dublin Edge Past Meath After Penalties In O’Byrne Semi-Final

For the second weekend in a row, a penalty shootout was required to decide the winner in the preseason competitions, as Dublin edged past Meath to reach the O’Byrne Cup final. 

The game finished 1-12 apiece after normal time with the All Ireland champions prevailing 3-1 in the penalty competition, which was introduced instead of extra time.

Ballyboden St Endas’ club man, Ryan Basquel was particularly impressive for the new-look Dublin side, scoring four points from play but it was the Royals who enjoyed the better start to the game. Graham Reilly was introduced as a blood sub for the side, and during his short time on the pitch, he notched up 1-1 to help Meath roar into a five-point lead, though it was shortlived.

Points from Oisin Lynch and Sean Bugler narrowed the gap before a  close-range goal from Robbie McDaid, as well as a point from Basquel, left the sides level at the break.

Dublin Meath O'Byrne Cup

The second half was a much more tight affair with the sides level on five occasions. Dublin looked to have sealed the winner in the 74th minute when substitute, Conor McHugh notched over his first score of the game, however, Michael Newman showed his coolness under pressure to slot over a free in the dying seconds, sending the game to the penalty shootout.

Meath missed their first effort before Andy Bunyan produced a save to deny them once again. Aaron Byrne, Lynch and McHugh were on target with their attempts, sending the Dubs through to the final where they will meet Westmeath on Friday night in Parnell Park.

Dublin: Andy Bunyan; Nathan Doran, Sean McMahon (0-1), Ciaran Smith; Cian O’Connor, Conor Mullally, Robbie McDaid (1-0); Darren Gavin, Cormac Howley; Ryan Basquel (0-4), Aaron Byrne (0-1), Sean Bugler (0-1); Stephen Smith (0-2, 2f), Callum Pearson, Oisin Lynch (0-2).

Subs: Conor McHugh (0-1) for Smith (47), Ciaran Reddin for Howley (47), Shane Boland for Byrne (55), A McGowan for Doran (55), Gerry Seaver for Basquel (64), Jack Hazley for Bugler (72).

Meath: Barry Dardis; Ronan Ryan, Conor McGill, Seamus Lavin; James McEntee, Donal Keogan, Niall Kane; Bryan Menton, Adam Flanagan; Niall Hickey, Ben Brennan (0-1), Daniel Quinn; Darragh Campion (0-3), Michael Newman (0-5, 0-4f, 0-1 mark), Thomas O’Reilly.

Subs: Graham Reilly (1-1) for Hickey (blood) (7), Marcus Brennan for Dardis (HT), Reilly (0-1) for Hickey (HT), Gavin McCoy for Quinn (HT), Sean Tobin for Brennan (49), James Conlon (0-1) for Campion (64).


Read More About: , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter