Home GAA Dublin Dominate All-Star Football Team With Seven Players

Dublin Dominate All-Star Football Team With Seven Players

GAA Football All-Ireland Senior Championship Final Replay, Croke Park, Dublin 14/9/2019 Dublin vs Kerry Dublin team celebrate Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

With the five-in-a-row secured, it’s no surprise that All-Ireland champions Dublin dominate the PwC All-Star Football Team of the Year for 2019.

All-Ireland runners up Kerry have four players in the team while there are two from Tyrone and one each from Mayo and Donegal.

Stephen Cluxton is named in goals, winning his first All-Star since 2013.

All-Ireland finalists dominate the full-back line with Kerry’s Tom O’Sullivan and Mick Fitzsimons joined by Ronan McNamee of Tyrone.

The All-Ireland champions dominate the half-back line with Jack McCaffrey winning his fourth All-Star and the former Footballer of the Year is joined by his teammate Brian Howard in the centre-back position. The final half-back position went to Mayo’s Paddy Durcan who becomes the first Castlebar Mitchels man to win an All-Star.

Last year’s Footballer of the Year Brian Fenton is named alongside David Moran in midfield following another stellar year.

gaelic football decade

Jim Gavin’s men are represented by Paul Mannion in the half-forward line and the All-Ireland winner is joined by Kerry’s young star Seán O’Shea and Donegal’s stalwart Michael Murphy at centre-forward and wing-forward respectively.

Last year’s Young Footballer of the Year David Clifford is named at corner-forward, winning his second All-Star, while Tyrone’s Cathal McShane and Footballer of the Year nominee Con O’Callaghan complete the team.

The All-Star hurling team was named earlier this week and you can read it here.

PwC All-Star Football Team of the Year 2019:

1. Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

2. Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)

3. Ronan McNamee (Tyrone)

4. Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)

5. Paddy Durcan (Mayo)

6. Brian Howard (Dublin)

7. Jack McCaffrey (Dublin)

8. Brian Fenton (Dublin)

9. David Moran (Kerry)

10. Paul Mannion (Dublin)

11. Seán O’Shea (Kerry)

12. Michael Murphy (Donegal)

13. David Clifford (Kerry)

14. Cathal McShane (Tyrone)

15. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)

About Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at marisa@punditarena.com or on Twitter