Close sidebar

All Ireland Champions Cork Dominate Camogie All-Stars

team of the year

There was further success for Cork at the Camogie All-Star awards last night as seven players were named on the official team of the year. 

Midfielder, Gemma O’Connor picked up her record eleventh All-Star award while Chloe Sigerson and Hannah Looney collected their first.

It was also a historic night for Waterford’s Beth Carton who is the first ever All-Star winner from the county.

Cork won their fourth All Ireland title in five years with a narrow victory over Kilkenny two months ago.

The Cats received five All-Star awards including Grace Walsh, Anne Dalton and Denise Gaule.

Meanwhile, Galway were represented by their captain, Sarah Dervan, while the Championship top-scorer, Cáit Devane was the sole representative from Tipperary.

Cork manager, Paudie Murray was recognised as the Manager of the Year after he oversaw All Ireland victory at both senior and intermediate level. There was further success for Anne Dalton as she was named the Senior Player of the Year while Saoirse McCarthy from Cork and Dublin’s Caragh Dawson were named Intermediate and Junior Player of the Year respectively.


Liberty Insurance All-Star Camogie Team 2018: 

Goalkeeper: Aoife Murray (Cork)

Right Corner-Back: Grace Walsh (Kilkenny)

Full-Back: Sarah Dervan (Galway)

Left Corner-Back: Pamela Mackey (Cork)

Right Half-Back: Hannah Looney (Cork) 

Centre Half-Back: Anne Dalton (Kilkenny)

Left Half-Back: Chloe Sigerson (Cork)

Midfield: Gemma O’Connor (Cork)

Midfield: Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny)

Right Half-Forward: Orla Cotter (Cork)

Centre Half-Forward: Katie Power (Kilkenny)

Left Half-Forward: Denise Gaule (Kilkenny)

Right Corner-Forward: Katrina Mackey (Cork)

Full-Forward: Cáit Devane (Tipperary)

Left Corner-Forward: Beth Carton (Waterford)


Read More About: , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter