Close sidebar

Club Roundup: Champions Dethroned While Ballygunner Make History

On a day when many were crowned champions, there were a number of major upsets around the country as the county club championships began to wind up.

Back-to-back All Ireland champions, Cuala were beaten by two points by Anthony Daly’s Kilmacud Crokes. Crokes were 10 points up when a late Cuala rally left them sweating but the clock was against Mattie Kenny’s side. It finished 3-13 to 1-17 in Parnell Park.

In the other semi-final, Ballyboden St Endas were four-point winners over St Vincents. Paul Doherty grabbed their first goal in the 14th minute but the win wasn’t secured until Aidan Mellett struck late on.

Cuala knocked out of Dublin senior hurling club championship


There was another shock in Tipperary as reigning champions Thurles, fell to a two-point defeat to Nenagh Eire Óg. The North Tipp side were leading the entire game but just as they did in their quarter-final defeat of Kilruane McDonaghs, Thurles scored a late goal through Ronan Maher.

However, Nenagh held on to see out the game and book their place in the final where they will meet Clonoulty-Rossmore who overcame Toomevara by 0-19 to 1-10.


Pauric Mahony scored 14 points as Ballygunner earned a coveted fifth Waterford SHC title in a row. It finished a comfortable win for Fergal Hartley’s side over Abbeyside on a scoreline of 2-18 to 0-13 in Fraher Field.


The semi-final lineup in the Limerick SHC has been completed. Patrickswell had a comfortable 1-26 to 1-13 win over South Liberties and will face Doon in the penultimate clash.

Meanwhile, Kilmallock progressed to the final four with a 26-point win over Murroe-Boher. Awaiting them in the semi-final is champions, Na Piarsaigh.


In Offaly, Leinster finalists, Kilcormac-Killoughey were beaten by Coolderry in the final on a scoreline of 2-17 to 0-17. The 2012 All Ireland club runners-up earned their 31st Offaly SHC title.


It was a low scoring affair in the Carlow SFC final as Eire Og triumphed over Palatine by nine points to five.


In Laois, Camross were crowned champions after a 2-15 to 0-19 win over Rathdowney-Errill.


Full county final results:

Offaly SHC final: Coolderry 2-17 0-17 Kilcormac-Killoughey

Roscommon SHC final: Athleague 2-11 1-11 Four Roads

Waterford SHC final: Abbeyside 0-13 2-19 Ballygunner

Laois SHC final: Camross 2-15 0-19 Rathdowney-Errill

Meath SHC final: Kiltale 2-18 0-14 Trim

Carlow SFC final: Eire Og 0-09 0-05 Palatine

Monaghan SFC final: Ballybay 0-13 1-13 Scotstown

Longford SFC final: Abbeylara 0-06 0-06 Mullinalaghta


Read More About: , , , , , , ,

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at [email protected] or on Twitter