Close sidebar

Club Round-Up: History For Borrisoleigh While Corofin Add Another Crown

club finals

It was a memorable day for the people of Borrisoleigh as the club were crowned Munster champions for the first time in 33 years.

The Tipperary champions came from behind to beat reigning champions Ballygunner by a single point in Pairc Ui Rinn.

Meanwhile, Corofin were crowned Connacht club football champions following an impressive win over Padraig Pearses in Tuam this afternoon.

In Leinster, Ballyboden St Endas progressed to the provincial club final following a dominant victory over Garrycastle. They will meet Éire Óg in the final in two week’s time.

Catch up on all the day’s action from the AIB Club Championships in our round-up below.


Munster club SHC final

Pairc Ui Rinn

Borrisoleigh 1-12 Ballygunner 1-11

Borrisoleigh are the Munster senior hurling for the first time since 1986 following a narrow one-point win over reigning champions Ballygunner in Pairc Ui Rinn.

Borrisoleigh Munster club final

Kieran Maher’s second-half goal proved crucial for the Tipperary champions but it was inter-county star Brendan Maher who inspired his side to victory.

Little could separate the sides in the opening 30 minutes but fine work from Dessie Hutchinson helped the Waterford side to a three-point lead at the break. The margin remained as such until Ray McCormack set up Maher for the goal in the 45th minute.

Brendan Maher hit an inspirational point immediately after the goal to give Borris the advantage but Ballygunner responded with a goal from Barry O’Sullivan in the 51st minute to ensure a tight finish.

More heroics from Maher followed as he scored the final two points of the game to ensure the narrow victory for the Tipperary champions.


Connacht club SFC final

Tuam Stadium

Corofin 1-10 Padraig Pearses 0-7

Corofin are the Connacht club football champions for the fourth time in a row following a six-point win over Padraig Pearses of Roscommon in Tuam Stadium this afternoon.

Liam Silke gave a man-of-the-match performance and it was his goal midway through the second half which put daylight between the sides.

Corofin enjoyed a three-point lead at the break but points from Paul Carey and Ronan Steede saw the Roscommon side level matters 10 minutes after the break.

However, following Silke’s goal, Corofin pushed on and scores from Michael Farragher and Jason Leonard put them out of reach despite the best efforts of Pearses.


Leinster club SFC semi-final

TEG Cusack Park

Garrycastle 0-12 Ballyboden St Endas 3-14

Ballyboden St Endas powered past Garrycastle to book their place in another Leinster senior club football final where they will face Éire Óg of Carlow.

The Dublin outfit dominated from start to finish and led 1-10 to 0-5 with the goal coming from Robbie McDaid in the opening minutes.

Garrycastle began the second half promisingly with three unanswered frees from the boot of Dessie Dolan but Ballyboden soon responded with points from McDaid and Ross McGarry to quell their momentum.  Goals from Colm Basquel and James Holland inside the last 10 minutes ensured the dominant win and a place in their first final since 2018.


Saturday’s results

Leinster club SFC semi-final

Portlaoise 1-6 Éire Óg 2-11

All-Ireland ladies senior club final

Kilkerrin-Clonberne 0-14 Mourneabbey 2-9

Author: Marisa Kennedy

Marisa is a Digital Journalist with Pundit Arena. You can contact her at or on Twitter

This website uses cookies in order to offer you the most relevant information. Please accept cookies for optimal performance.